RSS Feed

Silly Monster Party (Part 1)

Posted on

Yet another party!

My son wanted a monster party this year, but he’s only 4, so they had to be “silly monsters.”  I didn’t want a bunch of little kids to be scared of the cakes, after all.

So here is the second tiered cake I ever made! 

Silly Monsters Tiered cake

I made the little monsters out of fondant. The cakes were dark chocolate and orange.

And for those of you who notice details– NO, I did not leave the letters crooked.

I hadn’t attached the letters yet.  

I promise.  

OK, then I made a big silly monster (he was about  a foot tall, and the board he’s on was 20″ x 12″):

Silly Monster Cake

He was made up of vanilla, strawberry, and lemon cakes.

Seriously, I thought my hand was going to fall off while piping the frosting.  

So much craziness, but he turned out like I pictured him.  Except I hadn’t pictured me sitting there for hours working on it!

After an hour, I was cursing myself for deciding to make an extra cake.

After 2 hours, I was ready to smash him.

But anyway, I don’t want to bore you with the details of my looooong cake-decorating session.

Before I go, here is the piñata my husband made:

Monster pinata a

It was my son who requested 4 eyes– placed exactly as you see them. I know, I thought it was weird, too.

???????????????????????????????

Honestly, I told him to get a box, draw a monster face on it, and call it a day.

But nooooo… he insisted on arms, legs… the works. (I think he has some kind of piñata-making rivalry going on with one of his friends). 

Believe me, it was complicated to make, and he reinforced it to allow all the kids to get 2 turns– and even some parents.  

Silly Monsters Tiered cake 2a

OK, there you have it– until Part 2… the rest of the dessert table!

See you then!

16 responses »

  1. will you make my birthday cake when the big day rolls around? pretty please? ;-) haha, I jest, but you’re good at what you do! lucky kiddos you have.

    Reply
  2. Oh my gosh, these are so cute! You are such a talented baker and your kids are very blessed to have a mom and dad that work so hard on their birthday parties.

    Reply
  3. Oh those monsters are adorable! Not scary looking; too cute to eat :) You’re so generous with your time when it comes to celebrating these themed birthdays :)

    Reply
  4. Those cakes turned out beautifully! I wish I had half the piping talent you have. I hope your son had a wonderful birthday.

    Reply
  5. Great looking cakes!

    Reply
  6. This is amazing! Love the details and the tiered cake is clean, crisp, and fresh. Truly awesome.

    Reply
  7. I love that your monsters are silly! With Halloween just around the corner, I’m struggling to make baked goods that are scary, I tend to go for cutesy rather than gory!

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,545 other followers

