RSS Feed

My Dragon Cake (Part 1)

Posted on

My son recently asked for a dragon birthday party.

I suppose I could’ve bought a plastic dragon and put it on top of a sheet cake.   But why would I do something easy, when I could cause myself extra stress instead?

And then he said it had to be yellow.

Yellow?  Really?

OK, yellow it is:

I carved him out of several different flavored cakes, and then covered him in fondant, with gumpaste for his nails, spikes, and horns.

The fondant scales took hours to apply (note that my husband stayed up all night putting them on for me after I passed out from exhaustion)!

The board was over 2 feet long, so it took forever to make this cake.

But totally worth it.

I actually got attached to the little guy. I hope you like him too!

And stay tuned for Part 2, with Dragon Cupcakes…

76 responses »

  1. Off the chart Ger, did you use a plan / template for this or just go for it? Excellent job, your son is one lucky guy. Well done you.

    Reply
  2. wow! wow! wow! i am VERY impressed! this cake is super duper awesome! so much detail! hope your son had a great birthday!

    Reply
  3. Wow, your creation looks amazing! =)

    Reply
  4. It is stunning …. I love it

    Reply
  5. I agree.. this is really quite an incredible accomplishment!! I don’t think I could take a project like this one on!!

    Reply
  6. SamBarbaraDor

    This looks so professional, well done! I bet your son absolutely loved it! How did the yellow colouring taste? 🙂

    Reply
  7. I saw you post a like on my blog and just had to drop by. So glad I did: oh this dragon cake is AMAZING! Compliments to you (and your husband!!!)

    Reply
  8. I’d call that sculpture! Fantastic job, and lucky boy, having a Mum who’s willing to make that much effort. The cupcakes are just adorable too, way too good to eat.

    Reply
  9. I know what you mean about making decisions which cause you a lot of stress!! It’s so hard as you want to give yourself a challenge but also make something achievable too 🙂 But you certainly created a masterpiece here 🙂 Amazing!! Well done you.

    Reply
  10. Awesome! I would like a red dragon for my b-day, please!

    Reply
  11. WOW! That is gorgeous!!! Your son is one lucky kid! 🙂

    Reply
  12. This is seriously SO amazing – what a work of art!

    Reply
  13. This looks fantastic!

    Reply
  14. Oh my gosh– Your cakes are fantastic. Thanks for liking my Hello Kitty party idea– we need to team up.

    Reply
    • Thank you so much!! Your Hello Kitty party ideas were great– I LOVE to plan birthday parties. And I’ll definitely be stopping by your blog again! 🙂

      Reply
  15. WOW! Amazing detail! Awesome job!

    Reply
  16. Great cake live the yellow!!!! I once made one from rice krispies !!

    Reply
  17. Wow that looks really intricate, very impressive!

    Reply
  18. I am gobsmacked, this looks AMAZING!

    Reply
  19. This is really amazing! The detail of the scales is awesome. Great job.

    Reply
  20. This looks incredible!! You are so talented! What a lucky little boy you have! 🙂 I bet it was as delicious as it is beautiful!

    Reply
  21. This is so awesome! What a great job!

    Reply
  22. Holy cow! This is amazing!

    Reply
  23. All I can say is WOW – that dragon looks great. You have a gift.

    Reply
  24. I love that! Great detail with the scales.

    Reply
  25. WOW…that is amazing!!! Doesn’t it just break your heart a little when it’s time to cut them up!? After all of the blood, sweat and tears that goes into them and it only takes a minute to demolish 😦 The kids love them so, though 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you!! Yeah, it’s tough. But the kids do have a great time, and don’t seem to care that their cake is being cut up. As long as I have pictures… 🙂

      Reply
  26. Wow! That’s an incredible-looking cake – I’m in awe of your skills!!

    Reply
  27. gleebealsmerrymeals

    Hey, Geraldine! Thank you for visiting my blog and liking Gleeapolitan cupcakes. I realized that I never mentioned why I named them that. I made them for my birthday party – so they were Glee’s Neapolitan cupcakes shortened to Gleeapolitan! Your dragon cake is amazing! I haven’t ever used fondant before, but I’ve always wanted to. Is it very difficult to use when baking?

    Looking forward to checking out more of your blog and the sweet treats you post! 🙂

    Reply
    • Very cute!! Do you always name your baked goods? 🙂 And thank you!! I found fondant easy to work with– but I’ve only started using it, so I still have lots to learn!

      Reply
  28. I love this cake and the color is fantastic

    Reply
  29. This dragon is adorable! I can empathize with how long it must have taken you to cut out and place all of those scales. Your son is a lucky fella with a birthday cake like that!

    Reply
  30. Oh my! What an awesome dragon shaped cake! I love the details (esp. scales) of the cake. Just wow! 🙂

    Reply
  31. wow! great job 😀

    Reply
  32. What an amazing cake! Love the details of the dragon. Your son is a lucky guy 🙂 Thanks for hopping over to my new blog and liking my dinosaur cake – I’m new at this blogging thing 🙂 so please pop over and visit anytime.

    Reply
    • Thank you, Kelly!! I will definitely stop by, and hope you come back here too. I started blogging around the same time as you– so we’re both newbies! 🙂

      Reply
  33. This is ASTONISHING!!! :O

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

