RSS Feed

Dragon Cakes (Part 2)

Posted on

For the dragon party, I decided to make individual cupcakes for each child to take home.

You can imagine my surprise when I found out there would be 20 kids coming.

And even more surprising was how long it took to make each little dragon.

But I figured the kids would be happy.  I even put them in cute little cupcake boxes with a dragon sticker on top.

But what kid is happy with one little box?

So I made chocolate lollipops too.

Then I needed one more cake, but it had to be simple since I had no time.

Well, I suppose I didn’t NEED another cake.

OK, in my mind I did.

Anyway, I figured that carving a smaller dragon would be way easier, and using frosting was way faster than using fondant.

Wow, I must’ve been really tired when I came up with that.

Needless to say, it took way longer than I expected.  I piped buttercream frosting until my hands were numb!

FYI, I was going for a muddy area that he was walking on, but in the picture it just looks like I don’t know how to frost a cake.

HA HA.

OK, don’t laugh.

 

31 responses »

  1. Love it all! You are so creative!!

    Reply
  2. Wow! They looked outstanding! Thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  3. I laughed very hard at the part where you figured that the frosting on the dragon won’t take long… Boy have I been there… I made a dinosaur cake for my son a few years back and literally spend 9 hours to finish it. I swore I never wanted to see green frosting again! Your cake is really beautiful! I will have to hide your post away from my 4 year old otherwise I might end up having to do a blue dragon as well! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Oh I love dragons! These little cupcakes are delightful! I just love them! And the main cake is fantastic!! 🙂

    Reply
  5. Hey Ger,
    Seriously your Dragon cake is sooooo aweosome!!! I love the yellow one, you are amazing.
    Love you!
    Gin

    Reply
  6. OMG! you are amazing at decorating, at so dedicated! I love the toppers for the cupcakes, they are so pretty and shiny, what did you use to make them? I really want to make some myself.

    Reply
    • Thank you so much! The little dragons on the cupcakes are actually buttercream frosting that I piped on. You should definitely make some yourself! 🙂

      Reply
  7. I am a professional pastry chef but I have no patience for extravagant and time consuming cake decorating (read: fondant). I am in absolute awe of people like you who will spend hours applying scales to a dragon! It looks great

    Reply
    • Thank you! This was only my 3rd fondant cake, so I had no idea how long it would take. It was crazy! But I have to give credit to my husband who put the scales on for me, since I was exhausted from this cake and the other desserts I made! 🙂

      Reply
  8. Those cupcakes are super cute!

    Reply
  9. OMG!! Absolutely love this, you did a fantastic job Geraldine.

    Reply
  10. Wow, those dragons are fantastic! I love that they’re cute, not scary.

    Reply
  11. The cupcakes look awesome!

    Reply
  12. Wow! Looked at Part 1, too……Very creative! Wish I had that talent. I used to do a Mickey Mouse cake that usually turned out pretty well, but never a dragon! Just went to a birthday party that was all Mickey Mouse. They made marshmellow treats shaped like Mickey instead of the chocolate pops. Just an idea for other people. Thanks for sharing!!

    Reply
    • Thank you!! I just love planning theme parties! Do you have a picture of your Mickey Mouse cake? I’ve never done one! And the marshmallow treats sound so cute! 🙂

      Reply
  13. Just tweeted this post….I love dragons! I wish I was half as creative and skilled as you so I could ice a dragon cake! Just amazing

    One day…one day…

    Reply
  14. The Country Mouse

    Wow. Those dragons on the cupcakes are super-cute. And the big cake does not look like you don’t know how to wield an off-set spatula. You did a great job with all of these.

    Reply
  15. I am getting ready to throw a dragon-themed birthday for my child and this site was extremely helpful. Thanks for the great pictures. I really like the way you shaped your dragon. The cakes look amazing! I am unwilling to do the fondant so I am leaning toward the buttercream version. You did a great job on both of them. Again, thanks for sharing.

    Reply
    • Thank you so much, and I’m glad you were able to get some ideas from my site. Did you have the party already? I’d love to see how the cake turned out! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

