RSS Feed

Cakes From Birthdays Past- Part 1, “Under the Sea”

Posted on

Once upon a time (2 years ago), my son asked me for an “Under the Sea” party.

That was when it all started.

Up until then, I would buy birthday cakes, and maybe make some cupcakes.

I had done a bug party the previous year, but let’s not even get into that.

But I heard “Under the Sea” and something happened.

I decided to bake—and not just one cake.

Here is the main cake:

I made the fish myself with chocolate molds.

 Then I decided I needed a crab.

Not just any crab—this one was about 2 feet wide.

And suddenly, I needed an octopus—a very odd looking one, of course:

And a goofy starfish:

I also had a fish cake, some clam cookies, fish-shaped brownies, and cupcakes with chocolate whales on top. 

I did get carried away, but it was a good learning experience.

Well, I didn’t learn that I need to cut down on the amount of desserts.  I just learned that I needed to practice my decorating skills.   🙂

(BTW, if you haven’t seen my latest cakes– after I was introduced to the world of fondant– check out my other party posts, or the photo gallery.)

27 responses »

  1. Susan T's Kitchen

    Very nice! I bet it was fun eating the cakes!

    Reply
  2. These are amazing! Really love them!

    Reply
  3. You are very much a cake genius, these are gorgeous 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  4. Oh my, those cakes look so yummy! Such a work of art as well 🙂 Absolutely love the main cake. This is making me very hungry…

    Reply
  5. I love love googly marshmallow eyes on the crab. What did you do for his legs? Are those marshmallow, too? The octopus is almost too cute to cut into. Are those smarties for his suction cups? Great ideas!

    Reply
  6. so cute!

    Reply
  7. Boy! you have a lot of energy. I usually do one and then I’m finished for the year! They are very cute!

    Reply
  8. This star-cake is so adorable!!! great job!

    Reply
  9. I don’t know which one is my favorite…they are all so cute! How is it working with fondant? I keep wanting to try but I’m nervous. Maybe I should start practicing before my youngest son’s 1st birthday!!!

    Reply
    • Thank you!! Actually, the Under the Sea cakes were made with buttercream frosting. I just started using fondant 3 birthday parties ago, and I love it. And I did practice before the first one– so try it! 🙂

      Reply
  10. These are all so adorable! Can’t help but smile when looking at them! 🙂

    Reply
  11. This looks so brilliant! How I wish I can do something like that =)

    Reply
  12. I enjoy all the themed cakes that you have definitely spent a lot of time and love on. My two favorites are this one and the soccer balls! ~ judy

    Reply
  13. I started with Installment 3 and worked backward. You have some awesome cakes!!

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

