RSS Feed

Raspberry Jam Oat Bars

Posted on

These little bars had me worried at first.

I don’t want to turn this into another stressful-baking post, but let’s just say they didn’t want to cooperate.

I won’t mention how the jam messed up the oat mixture when I spread it on the pan, or how they got stuck on the sides, or anything like that. 

But don’t fear—if you want to make them (and you probably should), I’ll give you some pointers so you won’t have the same experience as me. 

And in the end, it worked out wonderfully.

They are sooo yummy, and sooo crunchy, and sooo… jam-y.

People said they were awesome, they were delicious, they were perfectly crunchy and tasty. 

Really? These little troublemakers were that good?

Yeah, I have to say they were.

So if you like jam—start baking!

 

Raspberry Jam Oat Bars (adapted from The Bake Sale Cookbook)

  • 1 C packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 C (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/3 C shortening
  • 1  3/4 C all purpose flour
  • 1  1/2 C instant oats
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1 C jam (you can use any flavor)

Beat brown sugar, butter, and shortening in a medium bowl until blended.

Stir in remaining ingredients (except jam) until crumbly.

Press half of the oat mixture in an ungreased 9 x 13 baking pan.

Spread with jam (NOTE- make sure the jam is room temperature and mix it well before spreading.  Otherwise it will lift up the oat mixture.)

Top with remaining oat mixture, pressing lightly.

Bake at 400 degrees for 25 minutes or until golden brown.

Let cool in pan for 15 minutes.

Cut into bars while warm and transfer to cooling rack.  (NOTE- do not cut too soon, or they will fall apart.)

12 responses »

  1. Yum, these remind me of homemade nutrigrain bars. I bet they are delicious!

    Reply
    • They did end up being really tasty! And you’re right, they kinda look like nutrigrain bars. But they’re so crunchy– something that I didn’t expect, but made them extra yummy! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Mmm, I do love baking with jam!

    Reply
  3. wow thanks for finding me because I’m so glad that I’ve found you! i’ve been reading through your past few posts, and you’re so wonderfully talented. oh how i dream of making my cupcakes and cakes look the way yours do….. !

    Reply
  4. I don’t know what it is about oats and brown sugar, but together they just kill me! Looks wonderful!

    Reply
  5. what is exactly instant oats? is it the one that you can normally buy and eat for breakfast or are they something special?
    I wanna try to make this bars! 🙂

    Reply
  6. These look great: I must try them! Great blog

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

