RSS Feed

Blueberry Crumb Cake

Posted on

For those of you who read my White Chocolate Chip Bars post, you know I had an ingredient emergency.

Don’t worry, there’s no need to panic.

My husband ran out the next day and bought me a 7 pound bag of light brown sugar, and a 16 ounce bottle of pure vanilla extract.

Yeah, you read that right.

Wow, I must’ve scared him.  🙂

OK, now that you know everything is good around here—on to blueberries.

I think this is my first crumb cake. It was tasty, but not as flavorful as I would’ve liked.  

If I were to make it again, I would add more blueberries for extra blueberry flavor!  Oh yeah, and the lemon zest I didn’t have…

The cake itself was very moist and light.

The crumb part was crunchy and really tasty.

8 out of 9 taste testers recommend it. 

The 9th wanted more blueberries.

Next time.  🙂

Blueberry Crumb Cake (adapted from recipe by Barefoot Contessa)

For the streusel:

  • 1/4 C granulated sugar
  • 1/3 C light brown sugar, lightly packed
  • 1 t ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 t ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 C (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 1/3 C all-purpose flour

Combine the granulated sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg in a bowl. Stir in the melted butter and then the flour. Mix well and set aside.

For the cake:

  • 6 T unsalted butter, at room temperature (3/4 stick)
  • 3/4 C granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 t pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 t grated lemon zest
  • 2/3 C sour cream
  • 1 1/4 C all-purpose flour
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1/4 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t kosher salt
  • 1 1/2 C fresh blueberries (the original recipe only had 1 C)
  • Confectioners’ sugar for sprinkling

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Butter and flour a 9-inch round baking pan.

Combine the granulated sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg in a bowl. Stir in the melted butter and then the flour. Mix well and set aside.

Cream the butter and sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment on high speed for 4 to 5 minutes, until light.

Reduce the speed to low and add the eggs 1 at a time, then add the vanilla, lemon zest, and sour cream.

In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

With the mixer on low speed, add the flour mixture to the batter until just combined. Fold in the blueberries and stir with a spatula to be sure the batter is completely mixed.

Spoon the batter into the prepared pan and spread it out with a knife.

With your fingers, crumble the topping evenly over the batter.

Bake for 40 to 50 minutes, until a cake tester comes out clean.

Cool completely and serve sprinkled with confectioners’ sugar.

21 responses »

  1. Oh my. This looks divine.

    Reply
  2. Love the Bluberry Crumb Cake – in particular I like the Streusel topping. So many times the recipe has oats in the topping which I don’t care for. But butter, sugar and cinnamon, yum!

    Reply
  3. Nom Nom! Did it taste a bit like a cheesecake? I might just have to find out for myself. Thanks

    Reply
  4. Yay! Another blueberry recipe! I just bought some..this looks delish!

    Reply
  5. yum! I am definitely going to try this one!

    Reply
  6. Hey! I nominated you for a very well deserved Versatile Blogger award!

    Check it out here: http://snazzybiscuits.wordpress.com/2012/06/21/raspberry-lemonade/

    Well done!

    Amy x

    Reply
  7. Yum! Sounds scrumptious! I am always looking for new treats to try with tea, and this is definitely one that looks amazingly refreshing!

    Reply
  8. This looks absolutely delicious! Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

    Reply
  9. Barbara Brandt

    This was AMAZING, even if you didn’t think so. The crumbly stuff on the top was perfect. I’m not much of a blueberry fan, so the amount was perfect for my taste. Just enough to give it some sweetness and variety, but not overberry-ing (get it????). Thanks for the opportunity to sample!! I’m ALWAYS available!

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

