RSS Feed

Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

Posted on

I know, I know, everyone makes chocolate chip cookies all the time.  Nothing exciting.

But you don’t understand…

I can’t live without them.

I LOVE chocolate chip cookies.  I really mean LOVE.

This was the first time I used this recipe, but I put dark chocolate chips in them, just for a change.

What a good change.  🙂

So about me and chocolate chip cookies…

We are inseparable.

I will hide them from people.  Seriously.

Because they’re mine.

I’m kidding. Ha!

(No, I’m actually not kidding.) 

Anyway, enough about me. Let’s talk about them.

These cookies are really, really good. Everyone liked them.

They are so chewy, which is awesome.

So, I found another yummy chocolate chip cookie recipe.

Yay!

OK, if you don’t want a chocolate chip cookie right now, then something’s wrong…

Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies (adapted from Desserts By the Yard)

  • 1-1/2 C all purpose flour
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/2 C (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 1/2 C packed light brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 1 C dark chocolate chips

Sift together the flour and baking soda and set aside.

Cream the butter on medium speed, about 2 to 3 minutes.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl.

Add the sugar, brown sugar, and salt to the butter.  Continue creaming on medium speed until smooth and lump-free, about 1 minute.  Scrape down the sides.

Add the egg and vanilla and beat on low speed for 15 seconds, or until the egg is fully incorporated.  Do not overbeat.

On low speed, add the sifted flour mixture.  Beat slowly until incorporated.

Mix in dark chocolate chips.

Spoon heaping tablespoons onto the baking sheet, 2 inches apart.

Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes.  (Place on middle rack, rotating the sheet from the middle rack to the bottom rack halfway through baking.)

Remove and cool on cooling rack for 5 minutes (if you can wait that long)!

 

44 responses »

  1. OMG sounds amazing! Can’t wait to bake!

    Reply
  2. Dark chocolate is the best! These cookies look scrumptious. 🙂

    Reply
  3. These look so good! I live at high altitude, whenever I bake cookies they fall and become super thin (still taste good, though). I’ll have to try these and see if they stay as pretty as yours.

    Reply
  4. Reblogged this on beckmank's Favorite Recipes and commented:
    These look so good…I am going to have to try them myself…

    Reply
  5. Gosh, these look absolutely perfect!

    Reply
  6. LOL, this made me laugh-you’re a hoot! 🙂 I feel ya though, I do ❤ me some chocolate chip cookies! And the extra bonus with this recipe, besides it being delish, is that it makes a smaller batch, perfect for one serving. hehehe

    Reply
  7. Oh these look sooooooooooooooo delicious!!! Always looking for a yummy cookie and will have to definitely try this one.

    Reply
  8. these cookies look so perfect….chocolate chip cookies are my all time favorite cookies.

    Reply
  9. Me too, me too! I LOVE chocolate chip cookies (good ones) beyond all reason 🙂

    Reply
  10. I LOVE chocolate chip cookies so I’m totally with you. Dark chocolate is always a welcome addition. I’ve got to try these.

    Reply
  11. I love chocolate chips cookies– definitely one of my favorite things to eat! And with dark chocolate, no less. Mmm..

    I’ve also been known to hide cookies, especially from my kids.

    Reply
  12. i agree! Choc chip cookies are just so perfect, and I can’t live without them either! Paired with a glass of milk? Oooo I swoon!

    Reply
  13. asliceabovetherest

    Thanks for being the first “like” on my blog! These cookies look great I am going to make them 🙂

    Reply
    • You’re very welcome– those Chocolate Fudge Cupcakes were adorable. Looking forward to more of your posts! And I hope you do make these cookies– they’re yummy!! 🙂

      Reply
  14. Yum. You are not kidding with your blog title–everything is so pretty!

    Reply
  15. I adore chocolate chip cookies!
    I really think semisweet chocolate chips is what makes a superb cookie.
    By the way, I hide them too!

    Reply
  16. I can’t live without them either…they were one of the first cookies I learned to make (and subsequently memorized the recipe for….) Try adding a little cinnamon ! It really gives the dark chocolate a new life.

    Reply
  17. There is ALWAYS something exciting about chocolate chip cookies. Even with all the fancy-pants desserts I’ve tried, I still gravitate back to the wholesome, unpretentious goodness of a chocolate chip cookie. With milk, please…
    Never thought to add dark chocolate chips though… pure, blinding, brilliance.
    Andi

    Reply
  18. Yum! Your chocolate chip cookies look amazing! I love that you use dark chocolate chips to tone down the overall sweetness.

    Reply
  19. Lovely!!!

    Reply
  20. Yummy….my mouth is watering

    Reply
  21. DARK chocolate chip cookies!! Be Still My Heart!!

    Reply
  22. Ok. Number 1 – I love chocolate chip cookies more than you! Number 2 – This looks very much like my favorite recipe, the Nestle Toll House cookie recipe, just halved. (That’s a good thing.) Number 3 – why do yours look more fluffy than mine?

    I’m happy if they’re not flat as pancakes! My daughter says I’m over-beating them. What say you?

    Reply
    • Haha, number 1- no WAY you like chocolate chip cookies more than me. Do you hide them from your kids like I do?? lol. I’ve never tried the Toll House recipe, and I have no idea why mine are fluffier. But these are definitely the best chocolate chip cookies I’ve ever made, so it must be something about the specific recipe– have you checked what the difference between the recipes is? There must be something!

      Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

