RSS Feed

Cranberry White Chocolate Chip Cookies

Posted on

I’m going to tell you a secret.

Aside from being yummy, these cookies are healthy-er than normal.

Why?

Because they’re made with less butter, and they have oats in them.

Then why didn’t I call them oatmeal cookies?

Well, because they don’t taste like oatmeal cookies.  Believe me, my “I-don’t-like-oatmeal-cookies-so-why-are-you-making-these” husband was pleasantly surprised.

They why didn’t I call them “light” cookies?

OK, enough with the questions already!

Fine, I’ll tell you!  It’s because I loaded them up with white chocolate chips.  Alright? Happy now?

OK, now that I came clean, I might as well tell you the whole story.  The original recipe called for raisins only.  I don’t believe in raisin cookies.  So I added Craisins instead. 

They rhyme, so it works right?

Can you see the white chocolate chips?

And then I added lots of white chocolate chips.  Lots.

Yum.

Good news… I had 14 taste testers, and they all loved these cookies.

Bad news… the cookies are gone.

 

Cranberry White Chocolate Chip Cookies (adapted from Cooking Light)

  • 1/2 C granulated sugar
  • 1/2 C packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 C butter, softened
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 1/8 t salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 C all-purpose flour
  • 1 C quick oats
  • 1/2 C (or more) white chocolate chips
  • 1/4 C Craisins

Beat first 6 ingredients at medium speed until light and fluffy.

Add flour and oats, and beat until blended.

Stir in chocolate chips and Craisins.

Drop by level tablespoons 2 inches apart on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray.

Bake for 11 or 12 minutes, or until golden brown.

Cool on wire racks.

Enjoy!

27 responses »

  1. Loved your creation , so lovely! =)

    Reply
  2. Aren’t they delish? I also made a batch of these a while ago! Really loved them! Thanks for reminding me. Will be making them again soon.

    Reply
  3. Those look yummy! Even though I don’t like white chocolate. 🙂

    Reply
  4. These are my all time favorite cookies! Although mine are definitely not the “light” version haha!

    Reply
  5. These look delicious! I will have to give the recipe to my daughter since she is the baker in the family!~

    Reply
  6. Hi Geraldine, thanks for stopping by my muffins post. I’m thrilled to discover your blog now, you have lots of yummy baked treats!

    Reply
  7. Hi Ger! I wanted to let you know that I nominated you for The Beautiful Blogger Award! The details are here: http://hudsononthepotomac.com/2012/07/01/the-beautiful-blogger-award/

    Reply
  8. love the soccer party cake and cup cakes… i wish i could half of that…. and I’ve never had any luck with cookies… mine end up tasting like chalk… thank you for stopping by

    Reply
  9. Oh, my. These look bonkers good! This is going to be one of the first things I make when I get my oven fixed.

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

