RSS Feed

Chocolate Almond Biscotti

Posted on

 

Why biscotti?

Well, you see, my husband hates buttercream frosting.  Or pretty much any frosting.  Unless it’s whipped cream.

And doesn’t really like most cakes.  Except cheesecake.  Or unless they have some specific type of mousse in the middle. 

Let’s not even talk about cookies.   And no lemon desserts…

Do you see the complication here??

So I asked him what he wanted me to bake, and he named several extremely difficult desserts that he had tried in random restaurants, yet didn’t know their name. 

Um…

So I stared at him blankly– and he said biscotti. 

That I can do.

Let’s play Stack the Biscotti!

I decided to try chocolate biscotti, which I’ve never made before.

And I drizzled dark chocolate on them.  Yum.

Finally, something he actually likes.  Yay!!

Everyone else liked them too, by the way.   Even the Italian guy.  🙂

OK… that was fun.

Now can I please make some frosting?

 

 

Chocolate Almond Biscotti (adapted from Hershey’s recipe)

  • 1/2 cup    (1 stick)  butter , softened
  • 1-1/4 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon almond extract
  • 2-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup sliced almonds (I didn’t have any)

Beat butter and sugar in large bowl until well blended.  Add eggs and almond extract; beat until smooth.

Stir together flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt; gradually add to butter mixture, beating until smooth.  (Dough will be thick.)

Stir in almonds with wooden spoon.

Divide dough in half.  With lightly floured hands, shape each half into rectangular log about 2 inches in diameter and 11 inches long; place on large ungreased cookie sheet, at least 2 inches apart.

Bake 30 minutes at 350 degrees or until logs are set.  Remove from oven; cool on cookie sheet 15 minutes.  Using serrated knife, cut logs diagonally using a sawing motion, into 1/2-inch thick slices.  Arrange slices, cut sides down, close together on cookie sheet.

Bake 8 to 9 minutes.

Turn slices over; bake an additional 8 to 9 minutes.  Remove from oven; cool on cookie sheet on wire rack.

Drizzle chocolate over biscotti, if you’d like (I recommend dark chocolate!!)

 

24 responses »

  1. Looks great! Love the drizzled chocolate 🙂

    Reply
  2. I like this recipe. I have it booked marked to copy later. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  3. love your recipes! it seems easy, will try this!! but I just hope that mine will look as nice as yours 😉

    Reply
  4. petit4chocolatier

    Your chocolate biscotti pictures look wonderful! I have never made biscotti before; but this recipe is tempting me to try! ~ judy

    Reply
  5. Yum!! These look sooo good!! I can’t wait to try them 🙂

    xx ♥
    melissa @ mama♥miss

    Reply
  6. They look lovely!…your husband sounds as awkward as my beloved is (the list of things I cant put in recipes lest he refuse is genuinely as long as my arm) 🙂

    Reply
  7. Oh no, how frustrating that must be! Do you have anyone else who’d be willing to eat your frosted creations?

    Reply
  8. I love your biscotti especially chocolate and I love the way you drizzled the chocolate over it.
    It looks delicious.Yum!!!

    Reply
  9. I don’t understand not liking frosting0-: Am sure he’s a good guy regardless–haha. Your biscotti are lovely!

    Reply
  10. These sound delicious, I love biscotti.

    Reply
  11. Yum!! Definately going to try this!!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

