RSS Feed

Vanilla Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

Posted on

I know, I know, this is nothing new and exciting, and you’ve probably made them a million times already.

But in my last post, I was going through frosting withdrawal, so I HAD to make some.  And I really like vanilla cupcakes.

Usually I make buttercream frosting, but this time the cream cheese frosting was calling me.

No, I’m not hearing voices.  Lets move on.

So I don’t really like cream cheese, but for some crazy reason, I can’t get enough of this frosting.

It was easy to make, but I did have some serious problems:

First, the frosting kept coming out of the top of the piping bag, and I had no choice but to eat it.

Second, sometimes I would mess up, so I had to eat more of it.

And third, there was some left in the container when I was done, and I had to eat that too.

Do you see how dangerous it was to make these cupcakes??

But you should be brave and try it– they are totally worth it.  🙂

Cream Cheese Frosting (from Better Homes and Gardens)

1 8-ounce package of cream cheese

1/2 Cup butter

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

6 Cups powdered sugar

Leave cream cheese and butter out at room temperature for 30 minutes.  Then beat cream cheese, butter, and vanilla on medium speed until light and fluffy.

Gradually beat in powdered sugar.

Now taste it to make sure it’s good.

And taste it again.  Repeat as necessary.

Now it’s ready!!

44 responses »

  1. That frosting is really good on applesauce raisin spice cake. Yummy cup cakes.

    Reply
  2. That’s pretty close tot he cream cheese recipe I use! My third daughter hates chocolate cake (I know, I know… who’s kid is SHE?!) and LOVEs the vanilla cupcake with cream cheese frosting combo. Love your pics… very pretty 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you!!! 🙂 Ha ha, I’m actually just like your daughter. I’m not thrilled with chocolate cake, but these cupcakes make me very happy. Lol.

      Reply
  3. Your photos are great! What camera are you using?

    Reply
  4. Geraldine you read minds! I was thinking if I should make vanilla cupcakes today and viola your post arrived. Will definitely be trying out your cream frosting recipe. Your cupcakes are just amazing 🙂

    Reply
  5. petit4chocolatier

    I am a frosting eater too and am still working on making the biscotti for others! Every one of your cakes and other sweets look wonderful! The buttercream frosting on top of these cupcakes is beautiful and perfect. And the blueberries and strawberry are the magic touch, and healthy! ~ judy

    Reply
  6. These look beautiful! 🙂

    Reply
  7. Hahaha I love cream cheese frosting too! I’m just about to make some vanilla cupcakes too – I was going to try meringue buttercream frosting for the first time, but yours looks so good – it’s tempting to change my plan!

    Reply
  8. I LOVE cream cheese frosting too! You can never have too much of it~!

    Reply
  9. Delicious! What a beautiful blog 🙂

    Reply
  10. You may or may not appreciate cream cheese frosting spread on a cinnamon-raisin bagel as part of a ‘nutritious’ breakfast. I wouldn’t know, because of course I’ve never tried it – hehehehehe! Should you happen to have leftover icing in the future.

    Your cuppies are beautiful!

    Reply
  11. These cupcakes look perfect! So lovely! I love cream cheese frosting!

    Reply
  12. Cream cheese icing is my favorite! Its great with so many cake flavors, strawberry cake is one of my favorites with it. Those cupcakes look awesome, what tip did you use to pipe them?

    Reply
    • Ooooh, strawberry cake is one of my favorites. Sounds yummy! And thank you! I used an Ateco tip, #846. I’m just learning to pipe– so I just grabbed one I thought might work. 🙂

      Reply
  13. oooooooooooooooooooh my favorite cupcake combinations! The fruit on the top makes them so beautifully decorated and also makes them healthier, yes? Thanks for posting this delicopus recipe 🙂

    Reply
  14. I love cream cheese frosting! 🙂 And the pretty swirls. To avoid the frosting coming out of the piping bag, I use this helpful tip which I found from cake central — http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-588591.html

    Reply
  15. I love your problems. The same kind beset me when I’m baking too! Thank you so much for liking a post of mine which has meant that I’ve found your blog. I shall enjoy following here! Thank you 🙂

    Reply
  16. cream cheese frosting…. mmmmm

    Reply
  17. Oh these look delicious and I have a package of cream cheese in the refrigerator! Can the cream cheese count as a protein so we can just call the whole thing dinner?

    Reply
  18. I agree about the cream cheese thing! I’m not a fan of cream cheese, but I’d take it over buttercream frosting anyday. 🙂

    Reply
  19. NDFAO - Bon Appétit

    Awwww! They’re pretty and looks so delish!

    Reply
  20. Love the fact that this naughty, but nice. With a healthy element in the fruit 😉

    Reply
  21. hey! i’m glad you like my post. here’s a question – how do you keep your cream cheese frosting from not falling apart when it’s hot outside? i can’t seem to get over this problem 😀 your frosting looks so great!

    Reply
    • Hi! I haven’t taken them outside, but perhaps you can put them in the fridge first, so the frosting hardens a bit and doesn’t fall apart outside. I actually prefer the way the refrigerated frosting tastes! And thank you!!

      Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

