RSS Feed

Low Fat Flan

Posted on

Flan and me.  We go way back.

I grew up eating flan—but the kind in a box that you add milk to.

But now it was time to make the real deal:

This flan was seriously good.  There was a commotion in my house when we were down to the last one.

And the toddler won.

Of course, I always end up doing something ditzy when I bake (unplanned, of course).

I forgot to spray the cups, so some of the sugar got stuck to them and there’s not that much on the flan itself.

But that’s ok, it was still delicious.

And it gives me an excuse to make it again.  Plus, I want to make it even lower fat next time.

Of course, you probably won’t see the improved sugar-on-the-flan, or lower-fat-flan pictures, because how weird would it be if I kept posting pictures of flan over and over?

Really weird.

 

Flan (adapted from Cooking Light)

Caramel Sugar:

  • 1/3 Cup sugar
  • 3 Tablespoons water

Combine sugar and water in small saucepan over medium-high heat (it will boil).

Stir frequently until sugar dissolves. Continue cooking until golden (about 4 minutes).

Coat custard cups with cooking spray, and then pour caramel sugar into them– tilting until the sugar coats the bottom.

Set aside.

 

Flan:

  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 large egg white
  • 2 Cups skim milk (the original calls for 2%- it’s up to you)
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 2/3 Cup sugar
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt

Beat eggs and egg white with a whisk.

Stir in vanilla, sugar, and salt.

Divide among custard cups.

Place cups in a 13×9 inch baking pan and add 1 inch of hot water to pan.

Bake at 325 degrees for 45 minutes or until knife inserted in the middle comes out clean.

Remove from pan, cover, and chill for 4 hours.

 

20 responses »

  1. Will give it a go 🙂 looks yummy.

    Reply
  2. My guy loves flan but hates skim milk. He’s been on a low-fat kick lately so he may be open to trying this. Does the skim milk alter the consistency much?

    Reply
  3. Yummm!!! I can’t wait to try this. It sounds devine.

    Reply
  4. Wow! Low fat flan 🙂
    We have the Philippines version ‘Leche Flan’ (Caramel custard) using eggs, sugar, condensed and evaporated milk. And is cooked through steaming. I miss them but not the calories hehehe

    Reply
    • They’re probably very similar. I made this one because my husband doesn’t like condensed milk. 🙂 And my favorite part is that it’s low fat!!!

      Reply
  5. I love flan, it’s totally one of my comfort foods, but I haven’t made it in so long! Will give this a try, love that it’s healthier than normal 🙂

    Reply
  6. kickassprincess

    I love flan but didn’t realize it could be made low-fat! I’m bookmarking this to try it.

    Reply
  7. Looks great! I wish my husband liked flan. Cooking light has some great recipes – I love their light tiramisu. 😉

    Reply
  8. Yum…I lived in Spain for 2 years, so flan became a staple in my diet. I’ve never tried making my own before but will definitely give this low fat version a try!

    Reply
  9. My mom always makes flan for birthdays. It is so delicious but not exactly healthy. I am glad to have a somewhat healthier version. Thanks for sharing the recipe and thanks for following my blog!

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

