RSS Feed

Cakes From Birthdays Past- Part 3, “Hippo Party”

Posted on

One of my kids was born early, at a little over 5 pounds. 

He was tiny for a while, but a few weeks later, he figured out that he liked to eat.

A lot.

Like his mother. 

He became chunky, and I started referring to him as my little hippo.

So for his 1st birthday, I made him a hippo cake (with my husband’s help).  I had no clue how to frost cakes 2 years ago, so no making fun of my poor hippo.  🙂 

Oh, and the cake was about 2 1/2 feet long.

My son’s nickname for a while became “Moto Moto.”  (From Madagascar 2.)

Poor kid. 

I’m terrible, aren’t I? 

This was before I really knew how to make cakes, and I couldn’t handle baking more than one.  How embarrassing.  🙂

So I bought the second one and decorated it with little hippo figures.  Yeah yeah, I don’t do that anymore.  Lol.

I just love my little Hippo…

(You can see more of my kids’ cakes in my cake photo gallery.)

38 responses »

  1. your hippo cake is awesome–it has way more character than the storebought (though the hippo cutouts are cute–where did you find those?)

    Reply
  2. awww, this is super cute! happy 1st birthday! it’s a big, big milestone 🙂

    Reply
  3. I think that hippo is super cool and looks great. I’m sure your 1 year old had no complaints! But for shame only baking one-lol!

    Reply
  4. Thats a cute Hippo cake 🙂

    Reply
  5. How cute is that!! I love it 🙂

    Reply
  6. I love your hippo! And the story behind it.

    Reply
  7. OMG. you make such lovely bakes! Yummy! =)

    Reply
  8. Happy Hippo… was it delicious?:-)

    Reply
  9. Sooo loving that hippo cake! gorgeous! x

    Reply
  10. So cute! I’ll bet the kids liked to move it, move it . . . to their tummies.

    Reply
  11. It’s a lovely cake and all the more because of the story behind it….:) (hi5)

    Reply
  12. Love the hippo!! My second kid was also early & tiny. Love that you turned his good eating into something memorable.

    Reply
  13. You made this before you “really knew how to make cakes”? It’s amazing! I like to think of myself as a half decent baker and I don’t think I could pull off something like your hippo cake!

    Reply
  14. can you please tell me how you made your hippo cake. Its really cute. what pans did you use??

    Reply
    • I’m sorry, I forgot to respond to this. I don’t really remember all the pans I used. The mouth was made out of two 9″ pans. The rest were different sizes that I cut out to fit as needed. I hope that helps!

      Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

