RSS Feed

Dark Chocolate Cake with Dark Chocolate Frosting

Posted on

OK, this cake is seriously good, but before I continue, let me give you an idea as to how much I love desserts…

This past weekend, we went to Busch Gardens and had lunch with Elmo.

It was a buffet, and there was no dessert.

No dessert??!!

I was rather perturbed and made a mental note never to return.

But at the end of lunch, my husband turned to the back and pointed at someone carrying out cookies and cupcakes.

Well, I nearly jumped over my kids to get there.

And I ran around people… and I got there first.

I’m serious.  🙂

Yum, look at the frosting!

And now that you know that I can be dangerous when there are desserts around, let’s talk about this cake.

My family loved the flavor (mild for dark chocolate), and it’s ridiculously moist!

My husband said he was shocked at how good it was (hmm, that doesn’t sound right, does it?).  I had to stop him at 4 slices.

Oh, and the frosting is yummy too.

If you think it’s too much dark chocolate for your taste (although it’s not overpowering at all), you can mix it up with something else. 

That’s what I did to the other ½ of the batter—but I’ll tell you about that in  a later post. (It’s a secret…)

 

Dark Chocolate Cake (adapted from Hershey’s Kitchen)

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1-3/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa powder
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup low fat milk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 cup boiling water

Stir together sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt in large bowl.

Add eggs, milk, oil and vanilla; beat on medium speed for 2 minutes.

Stir in boiling water (batter will be thin).  Pour batter into two greased 9-inch round baking pans.

Bake at 350°F for 30 to 35 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Cool 10 minutes; remove from pans to wire racks.  Cool completely.

 

Dark Chocolate Frosting (adapted from Hershey’s Kitchen)

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
  • 2/3 cup Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa powder
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/3 cup low fat milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Melt butter and stir in cocoa.

Alternately add powdered sugar and milk, beating to spreading consistency.  Add small amount additional milk, if needed.

Stir in vanilla.

84 responses »

  1. This cake looks divine… or maybe devilish? 🙂 Let’s just say, I hate my diet at this moment. 🙂

    Thanks for the tease!

    Bonnie
    http://www.recipeshappen.com
    http://www.facebook.com/recipeshappen

    Reply
    • Thank you, it really was good– but I tried not to eat TOO much! Lol. I know what you mean about diets. Next time I’m going to make it low fat, and see what happens! 🙂
      -Geraldine

      Reply
  2. Looks great! And I agree with you – life is short, eat dessert first!

    Reply
  3. Wow, this looks delicious!

    Reply
  4. Wow, this looks so YUMMY! I love desserts also, anything chocolate or peanut butter. I am saving this one and will make it soon! Thanks!

    Reply
  5. I would push my own grandmother out of the way to get to the dessert table first. I wish I were joking… And this cake! The deep dark colour of the cake and icing is mesmerizing. And in my opinion, the darker the chocolate the better. This looks absolutely delicious!

    Reply
  6. that looks seriously delicious!

    Reply
  7. Seriously, a buffet without dessert? That’s my favorite part 🙂 Your cake looks so decadent and chocolatey!

    Reply
    • Well, I’m glad they finally did bring out dessert– but way at the end. And not nearly enough variety for my taste. Lol. And thanks– the cake was really yummy! 🙂

      Reply
  8. Looks Delish! I will be trying 🙂 … check out the one I made with applesauce & water (sounds crazy) but AMAZING and moist @ http://www.glitzgirlzglamourguide.com

    Reply
  9. did your husband leave the frosting behind? looks so yum.

    Reply
  10. this looks soo chocolaty and moist muuuuum!

    Reply
  11. wow…..what a decadent and mouth watering cake.

    Reply
  12. The cake looks amazing, I’m hungry just looking at it!

    Reply
  13. Looks fabulous! I love using dutch process cocoa powder for cakes–much smoother taste!

    Reply
  14. That looks soooo nice and I am going to spend my evening pondering how best to replace the eggs because I want that in my stomach as soon as I can.

    Reply
  15. So I am working on my blog and I take time to check out what’s new on yours. When my husband comes in, looks over my shoulder and says,”Ooooooh! Is that cake?” Needless to say I will be making it soon. He likes his chocolate. 😉

    Reply
  16. I admire your dedication to desserts – I’d be pushing my way to the front of the queue too! I’m not usually a fan of Hershey’s, but this looks amazing. Really moist and rich.

    Reply
  17. My boyfs a chocoholic and though he loves my cakes – well, of course 🙂 this looks like it might top my most chocolatey of chocolate cakes so I guess this is what I’ll be making whilst the Olympic cyclists go pedaling down our street (we are housebound all weekend as roads are closed!)

    Reply
  18. Wow….finally someone who appreciates desserts as much as I do! When we go out, I look at the dessert menu first. And many times, that will be my entree! I say eat the best, first! Thanks for stopping by my blog today. I am not a “real” cook. But I am a real eater! 🙂 paula

    Reply
  19. I will direct my sisters to this recipe next time they are craving chocolate cake 🙂 It looks delicious 🙂

    Reply
  20. OMG! I would love to try this but alas I am on a diet at the moment 😦 maybe I’ll find a special occasion to give it a go soon? 🙂

    Reply
  21. Dark Chocolate, my favorite one! I need to try this!

    Reply
  22. Oh my goodness, this cake looks AMAZING. Your comment about your husband saying he was shocked made me giggle. I love dark chocolate…will have to try this one!

    Reply
  23. oooo this looks scrumptious!!!! and so moist!

    Reply
  24. Reblogged this on Nessipes! and commented:
    It looks so decadently delicious, like a giant brownie. 🙂

    Reply
  25. oooh, that looks delicious!

    Reply
  26. I’ve used that recipe before with regular cocoa powder. It’s a keeper – so moist and yet light and yet rich and yet chocolatey – I will have to look for special dark – more dark chocolate, the better!

    Reply
  27. OH MY!! I would knock someone ovaer just to get to that!! CHOCOLATE!!!

    Reply
  28. Oh wow. That looks too good. Any idea of calory count? I daren’t guess…

    Reply
    • Lol, I haven’t had time to figure it out– but I’m guessing it’s quite a bit. I plan on trying a low fat version of it though– I just hope it tastes just as good! 🙂

      Reply
  29. Pingback: Cheese + Cake? « myfirstoven

  30. Yum!! I love using Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa. This cake looks wonderful. Can’t wait to try it.

    Reply
  31. Sounds delicious I love chocolate can’t wait to try it!

    Reply
  32. I have made this 3 times in the past month, I’ve been searching for a while for the perfect chocolate cake, search is over!! I also add a Tbsp of instant coffee to the dry ingredients, tastes amazing!!

    Reply
  33. Reblogged this on filltheirbellies and commented:
    Absolutely THE BEST chocolate cake ever!! Add a Tbsp of instant coffee to the dry ingredients too deepen three flavor and add a hint of the Java flavor!!

    Reply
  34. Wow, this looks amazing! I’ll have to make this for my FIL for Father’s Day!

    Reply
  35. Geraldine, this dark chocolate cake looks dreamy. I see a home made chocolate cake in my near future.

    Reply
  36. Looks wonderful! Chocolate cake.. 🙂

    Reply
  37. I am imagining you running back for the dessert haha! I would do the same!👍

    Reply
  38. I would have liked to be there. It could have beek fun to see which one of us made it to the desserts first! 😉 … Your cake looks scrummy! Chocolate can never be too dark ( IMO).

    Reply
  39. Looks like a slice of chocolate heaven! 🍫

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

