RSS Feed

Super Mario Brothers Party (Part 2)

Posted on

So here are the rest of the desserts I made for the Super Mario party.

The cupcakes were my favorite. They had buttercream frosting with a fondant topper.

I actually had fun making these, unlike the Luigi cake that drove me crazy– and made me want to quit baking forever.  Or at least until next week.

Anyway, I did bake a lot for this party– but I only put out enough for the 9 boys.

So of course it looks like it wasn’t too time-consuming.

I beg to differ.

No, I’m not complaining.  Moving on…

Here are the sugar cookies:

Cloud Cookies

Coin Cookies

Frosted brownies:

Star Brownies

And finally, cake balls.  My son wanted them red and green because Mario and Luigi are Italian. 

Green was pineapple and red was strawberry!!

I fought with the chocolate the entire time.

I tried all different ways of melting it, so it would coat the cake smoothly.

I even threatened it.

And I lost the chocolate melting fight.  Once again.

But at least they tasted really yummy!

47 responses »

  1. Those cupcakes look fantastic! Well done!

    Reply
  2. These look fabulous! Nice work. Thanks for sharing your photos.

    Reply
  3. excellent! i am keeping both this and last post to print and although i am not even half as good a cook as you i shall have a try, i love your ideas and you make it all look so excellent ! love the ideas here, so i shall be brave and have a go its my sons birthday soon wish me luck ! thank you for sharing with us have a wonderful weekend xx

    Reply
  4. Really love the cupcakes! I have a Mario obsessive little boy here who has just seen the picture and said they are ‘AWESOME’ 🙂

    Reply
  5. I love that you go all out like this. I once made four princess cakes for my daughter’s birthday and wondered if I was crazy, but now I see that there are some of us who are just like this;-) (My princess cakes looked no where near as awesome as what you’ve done!)

    Reply
  6. I love everything! The cloud sugar cookies are pretty genius. I love that your son wanted his say in every detail. 🙂

    Reply
  7. Okay, can you come make all of these things for my birthday? It’s next week. 🙂

    I struggle with cake ball coating too. I don’t know why.. but I can never get the candy coating nice and smooth!

    Reply
    • Haha, ok– everything except the cake because it was way too difficult. 🙂 Oh good, I’m not the only one who has trouble with the candy coating! Lol. And happy birthday!

      Reply
  8. Just started to follow your blog and wanted to say hi. Looking forward to seeing more of your yummy baking! You are very creative and talented!

    Reply
  9. I really like super mario! great job!

    Reply
  10. these are so much fun! i love the mushroom fondant (1-up!!) looks just like the game 🙂

    Reply
  11. Love the cloud cookies!

    Reply
  12. petit4chocolatier

    Wow! These look great! My children are older now; but we still love Mario and Luigi. They would love these!

    Reply
  13. Hi Geraldine!! Just wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you for the beautiful blogger award. I hope you accept it. 🙂 Here’s the link. http://bakenoob.wordpress.com/2012/08/14/beautiful-blogger-award/

    x,
    Jo

    Reply
  14. Very cute & creative!! 😉

    Reply
  15. Those are all amazing. Makes me wish I had kids at home just so I could make them for a party!!

    Reply
  16. I love the sugar cookies…they’re my kind of treat! I have never had the patience for fondant so I pipe all my frosting on cupcakes. Yours look adorable!!!

    Reply
  17. All of these look awesome! 😀 Great job!

    Reply
  18. I would have loved these as a kid!

    Reply
  19. These cupcakes are absolutly amazing and match with Mario’s and Luigi Topic! I ma sure your son and his friends were delighted!

    Reply
  20. THANK YOU FOR SHARING 🙂 I WILL BE THROWING A PARTY FOR MY SEVEN YEAR OLD TWIN GIRLS AND THEY INSIST ON A MARIO PARTY 🙂 THANKS FOR THE IDEAS

    Reply
  21. Geraldine ..they look fantastic..my youngest has just discovered Super Mario so me thinks I may have to make some of these. Thanks for sharing =)

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

