RSS Feed

Low Fat Butterscotch Bars

Posted on

I think I’m crazy.

This whole blogging thing is crazy.  

Ever notice that I don’t post fancy, difficult-to-make desserts?

That’s because I have no time.  I barely have time for the simple desserts.

I bake when I should be sleeping.  Stuff like these butterscotch bars:

I’m thrilled that they’re low fat.

And they’re really yummy, which is awesome.

But back to the craziness…  there’s the picture taking, the writing…

Well, if you’re anything like me, you get mesmerized by pictures of yummy food.

So… I wonder if I actually need to spend time thinking of stuff to write in these posts, or if I can type anything and get done quickly.

Wow, maybe I’m onto something.

OK, let’s try. 

Blah blah blah blah, blah blah blah, blah blah blah.

Did you even notice?  Hmmm…

Wow, I must be really tired.  🙂

 

Low Fat Butterscotch Bars (adapted from Cooking Light)

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 2 large egg whites
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup butterscotch chips

Beat sugars and butter at medium speed until well-blended (about 4 minutes).

Add egg whites and vanilla; beat well.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt; stir well with a whisk.

Add flour mixture to sugar mixture; beat at low speed just until blended.

Spread batter evenly into an 8-inch square baking pan coated with cooking spray; sprinkle evenly with butterscotch chips.

Bake at 350° for 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Cool in pan on a wire rack.

24 responses »

  1. I noticed the “blah blah blah!!!” You’re hilarious. I totally feel the same way though – sometimes it’s like, why am I taking pictures of these desserts? O because I need to upload them to my blog… oh wait, and then I have to write about them… hmmm!

    You seem to be pretty good at it though 🙂 Still need to try your blueberry cheesecake!

    Reply
    • Haha– awesome that you noticed! You might be the only one. Lol. And thank you! Let me know how you like the blueberry cheesecake if you get a chance to try it! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Oh they look fantastic! I haven’t yet been able to find butterscotch chips in Australia but I think I’ll have to track them down.

    Reply
  3. Wow! These look gorgeous – and the photos definitely do distract from the writing!! 🙂 Katie

    Reply
  4. Notice what? All I see is yummy looking cakes!

    PS – I’m in the same boat. And photographing and blogging takes up more time than baking itself! But so worth it 🙂

    Reply
  5. These look really good! And very moist, which you usually don’t get with low fat baked goods.

    Reply
  6. Ooh, can’t wait to try these, just bookmarked them! I love butterscotch chips 🙂

    Reply
  7. “I bake when I should be sleeping.” sounds all too familiar. 😉

    These cakes look yummy and will be on my to-make list.

    Reply
  8. uglykitchenprettycakes

    Thanks for visiting my blog! These look yummy, I love finding new low fat recipes too! 🙂

    Reply
  9. ummmmmmm.it looks so yummy. I will definately try it.

    Reply
  10. I so agree. I’m still trying to figure out how to balance blogging into my life!

    Reply
  11. These look great! And blah, blah, blah to you too! You are funny! I actually say “blah, blah, blah” a lot and didn’t even notice until my daughter started saying it too. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

