RSS Feed

Banana Cinnamon Muffins

Posted on

I know, I know, banana muffins aren’t terribly exciting.

I was looking around for recipes and ran into this one.  The tops of these muffins intrigued me.

And I’m so glad I tried them!

Seriously, the easiest topping ever—and it’s soooo good!

If you don’t like bananas, or are tired of banana bread, just use this topping on another muffin. 

It’s that yummy.

My husband said this one looks like a UFO with frost.

I dipped the muffins in melted butter, then rolled them around in sugar and cinnamon.

Seriously, that’s it.

I’m so excited!!!!!!  I want to put this topping on everything.

Oh, it’s nothing new to you?  You’re not as excited as I am?

But the dipping… and they look so cute… and it’s so easy to do…

OK, fine, I don’t get out much.

But still, you should try it.

 

Banana Cinnamon Muffins (adapted from Betty Crocker)

Muffins 

  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 2/3 cup mashed very ripe bananas (2 small)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1-2/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

In medium bowl, beat 2/3 cup sugar, the oil and eggs with wire whisk. Stir in bananas and vanilla. Stir in remaining muffin ingredients just until moistened.

Divide batter evenly among 12 muffin cups.

Bake at 375 degrees for 17 to 21 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Immediately remove from pan to cooling rack.

Topping

  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup butter or margarine, melted

In small bowl, mix 1/4 cup sugar and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon. Dip muffin tops into melted butter, then into cinnamon-sugar.

37 responses »

  1. It also goes really well on toast 🙂

    Reply
  2. littlemisswelsteadscookeryclass

    I love the look of these! I might have to try the topping on some apple muffins.

    Reply
  3. Melted butter, sugar and cinnamon. Sounds delicious!!

    Reply
  4. The topping works well on other muffins. I like to do that with plain muffins. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  5. Belinda - reflections of us

    They look delicious and so does the topping, I may have to try these and make a gluten free version

    Reply
  6. These are like the cinnamon puffs I made a few weeks ago! Caitlin

    Reply
  7. I love banana baked goods and that sugar-cinammon-y topping adds that extra special something to these muffins. I’ll definitely try it with my next batch.

    Reply
  8. One of my family’s favs is banana anything. Will try these soon.

    Reply
  9. A UFO with frost… such a man thing to say. Bet he still ate it!

    DEFINITELY giving this a try – looks amazing! Wonder if you could mix a little edible glitter with the sugar… or… coloured sugar?

    Reply
    • Haha, you noticed that!!! Yes, he did eat… a few. 🙂
      Thanks! Let me know how they turn out. And edible glitter or colored sugar sounds like an awesome idea!! They would look so pretty!

      Reply
  10. These look awesome! Definitely making these for the kids.

    Reply
  11. This is like a snickerdoodle and a banana muffin in a single bite. I approve. 😀

    Reply
  12. My mom used to bake banana cinnamon cupcakes, but instead of adding the cinnamon for the toppings, she’d mix it with the banana mixture. It tastes heavenly! and the smell is absolutely mouthwatering! Thanks for sharing this new idea. I will try this when I have the ingredients to make a batch! 🙂

    Reply
  13. This looks amazing, I tried making a maple syrup frosting for a banana nut cupcake recipe I had, but it was overwhelming, this looks PERFECT though! 🙂

    Reply
  14. its look so yummy :9
    wanna try to make that 😉

    Reply
  15. also works great with almond meal! lol, xx

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

