RSS Feed

White Chocolate Cookies

Posted on

I love chocolate.

But I’m now convinced that chocolate hates me.

No matter what I do, it won’t melt. 

I’ve mentioned this before—but now it’s getting out of control.

In the middle of complaining about chocolate, here are some cookies:

Not only do they have white chocolate chips, but they also have melted white chocolate in the batter!!  YUM.

It was the chocolate coating that gave me a hard time.

Can someone please come over my house and show me how to melt chocolate???

Yes, I tried the microwave.

Yes, I tried the double boiler.

Yes, I tried the Wilton melting pot.

Yes, I screamed at it to melt.

No, I could never get it to the right consistency.

Well, at least the cookies ended up looking cute and tasting yummy.

I guess they were worth my fight with the chocolate.

But someday I’ll win…

White Chocolate Cookies (adapted from Betty Crocker)

Cookies

  • 1-2/3 cups white chocolate chips
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 2/3 cup butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cream of tartar

Melt 1 cup of the chocolate chips and cool.

In large bowl, beat sugar, butter, vanilla and eggs with electric mixer on medium speed until creamy.

Beat in melted chips on low speed. Stir in flour, baking soda and cream of tartar.

Stir in remaining 2/3 cup chocolate chips.

Drop dough by rounded teaspoonfuls about 2 inches apart onto ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake at 325 degrees for 10 to 12 minutes or until very light brown.

Cool 2 minutes; remove from cookie sheet to wire rack.

Coating

  •  16  ounces white chocolate chips (or colorful candy melts), melted

Dip cookies in melted chocolate and make them pretty!!

30 responses »

  1. They look lovely! I always find white chocolate is harder than milk or dark to melt. I usually just use a bowl over simmering water.

    Reply
    • Thank you!! And I can’t do it with any type of chocolate. Lol.

      Reply
      • Have you tried a heat gun? I’ve taken a couple chocolate courses through our culinary school, and the chef has (both times) recommended a run of the mill, buy it at the hardware store, heat gun. I bought mine at the local Home Depot for $9 and I love it. Throw the chocolate in the bowl, turn on the heat gun, and just keep moving it around while (eventually, once it melts) stirring. A metal bowl works best, but I’ve used everything. Then I let it harden up again, cover and store, and then it’s ready to be remelted for next time. Let me know how you make out!!! And that totally gives me an idea for my next blog post! Thanks!!!

        Reply
  2. Poor Ger! I hesitate to offer advice b/c it really sounds like you’ve tried everything without success. I wonder if it is your climate that is messing with your chocolate. When I melt it, whichever way I do it (usually microwave at 50% power) I just do it very slow to make sure I don’t overheat it. It can get thick if overheated. I take it off the heat/stop microwaving when it’s 50%-75% melted and let the residual heat melt it completely while I stir. Patience is key. Sorry if you already do it this way, just thought I’d try to help if I could! That would be very frustrating. But your cookies look fabulous anyway! 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks so much Veronica!! I do try, and it does melt, but never liquidy enough. I will try it again– and I will definitely let you know if I ever get it right! 🙂

      Reply
      • Thank you for verifying that at least amongst foodies, “liquidy” is a word! I used it on a video I was making when I was talking about the consistency I wanted for ganache when drizzling it on a cake and my husband started making fun of me. I’ll have to tell him it’s two against one now!

        Reply
  3. I like to use candy melts on cookies. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  4. I find mixing in a bit of vegetable fat (trex) gets it to a really good consistency without affecting the flavour.
    Using a bains-marie method is defintely the best way – I just boil the kettle, but some of the hot water in a bowl, then put in the smaller bowl with chocolate in. Because the waters so hot to start with I don’t find the need to reheat it, and it keeps the chocolate melted whilst you use it for dipping etc 🙂

    Reply
  5. Chocolate is definitely a difficult ingredient. For the white chocolate the only reason I can think of that you would be getting the wrong texture is moisture. You have to make sure your melting vessel and stirring equipment, (whatever they may be) are absolutely, positively dry when you put your white chocolate in and when you stir. Any moisture and white chocolate seizes up like no one’s business.

    Reply
    • Thank you Nancy! I’ve definitely made sure to keep everything dry. I am going to try again when I’m not in a hurry to prepare something for a party. I’ll get this eventually! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Use low heat and stir it. If you heat chocolate chips/chunks, they will retain their shape until you stir. If you wait for them to lose their shape without stirring, you’ll get scorched chocolate. You could also be using poor quality chocolate, I suppose, but I”ve always had good luck with Baker’s or Hershey’s chips. If you’re dipping, you may want to look into recipes for ganache, which usually has some soymilk and sugar added. Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World has two easy recipes.

    Good luck. It’s really not that hard.

    Reply
    • Thank you for your help! I’ve used all kinds of chocolate, so I don’t think it’s that. I will look into the recipes you mentioned, though. Something’s gotta work for me! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Her Ger. I am no expert but I think you have been given some good advice. Vegetable oil will improve viscosity (used in chocolate fountains) but be careful how much you add. I might be tempted to go with a low low heat bain marie and a knob of unsalted butter. Try not to stir until absolutely necessary. Quality of chocolate will make a difference – high cocoa content is better as I am sure you know. Good luck and let me know how it goes.

    Reply
  8. I know what you mean about chocolate…have to say it’s hit and miss with me (just wish I could be more in tune with how I get the hits LOL!!
    The cookies look delicious…thanks for sharing 🙂

    Reply
  9. Thank you…. This is useful for me…. 🙂

    Reply
  10. I’m sorry about your chocolate troubles. At least you have yummy cookies – they look awesome!

    Reply
  11. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  12. Hello Geraldine! I stumbled upon your blog from my chocolate ganache cake 😉 While I don’t have a whole lot of experience in chocolates yet.. one blogger mentioned looking into ganache recipes. My cake decorating instructor says that the chocolate chips should not contain any shortening; she melts her chocolate with whip cream — i.e. heat the whip cream to a boil, turn off the heat and add the chocolate into the whip cream. The ratio of chocolate to whip cream is 1:1 ratio. Let sit for a few minutes then stir the mix until the chocolate has melted. If you want your chocolate to have a bit of shine, just add glucose. Cheers!

    P.S. I will try to incorporate white chocolate in my Halloween baking 🙂 So, you can check back in a few weeks.

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

