RSS Feed

Light Lemon Cookies

I was away at a farm cottage this past weekend.

Great fun with friends, lots of relaxation, and no baking! 

I know, it was tough.  🙂

But before we left for the weekend, I made these cookies to bring with us:

I’ve made these many times now, and they’re awesome.

They’re tasty, and lemony, and light, and soft… And the best part?

They don’t try to sabotage my baking.  Ever!!

I definitely recommend them.

I make them fairly small, and got a batch of 44.

Are you ready for this??  They were 64 calories and 2 grams of fat each.

I know, I almost fell out of my chair too.

Oh, but there’s one problem- they go fast.

So I recommend you hide some for yourself.

Don’t worry, I won’t tell.  😉

 

Light Lemon Cookies (adapted from Cooking Light)

Cookies

  • 1/2 Cup granulated sugar
  • 7 Tablespoons butter, softened
  • 1/3 Cup honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon extract
  •  1 large egg
  • 1-3/4 Cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup plain fat-free yogurt

Beat sugar and butter at medium speed until light and fluffy.

Add honey, extract, and egg; beat until well blended

In another bowl, combine flour, baking powder and salt.  Stir with a whisk.

Add flour mixture to sugar mixture alternately with yogurt (beginning and ending with flour mixture).

Drop 2 inches apart onto baking sheets coated with cooking spray.

Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes, or until lightly browned.

Glaze

  • 1 Cup powdered sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons lemon juice

Stir powdered sugar and lemon juice with a whisk.

Brush over cookies.

34 responses »

  1. I have some similar lemon cookies I make. The glaze is the best part!

    Reply
  2. so cute:-) Love your photos.

    Reply
  3. I love the tart and sweet flavors of lemon cookies and lemon bars! Yours look so cute!

    Reply
  4. Thank you for the recipe, these look fab!
    I have a lot of lemon in my freezer and I just love the flavour, I will have to try these out.

    -Pepper

    Reply
  5. They look lovely!! Would love some right now.

    Reply
  6. Frosted cookies with just 64 calories? These are a winner my friend! I have actually been looking for a citrusy cookie recipe because I am really getting tired of my standard chocolate chippers!

    Reply
  7. Beautiful cookies! I love lemon glaze!

    Reply
  8. Oh those look so amazing! You have inspired me to make lemon bars this week! I will definitely be trying these cookies soon too though 🙂

    Reply
  9. Ooh these look gorgeous! A question, I imagine I can use lemon juice instead of extract, but how much do you think it would need? I’d want them pretty lemony 🙂

    Reply
  10. Sound delicious! Do you think they would work just as well with a gluten free or wholemeal flour? I would love to try these!

    Reply
  11. You’re making me hungry now! I think they’re really sweet being so dinky but I might not notice how many I’ve eaten. 🙂

    Reply
  12. These look great, thanks for sharing. I love lemon cookies and I am curious to see if the kids would like them too.

    Reply
  13. These look wonderful, I’ve bookmarked this, Yum!

    Reply
  14. They look alot like melting moments only they don’t have the corn starch in them. I bet they are good. thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  15. These look absolutely scrumptious. And the “light” part of it is great!

    Reply
  16. Oh I am such a huuuuuge fan of lemon anything. These look great, and I love that you can have 2 and still be just around 100 calories or so!

    Reply
  17. These look so yummy I am trying to convince my boyfriend to nip out for some sugar to give it a whirl!

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

