RSS Feed

Crumb Cake

Posted on

I’m a frosting girl, so of course I tend to always want to bake stuff with frosting.

But my best friend Virginia told me I had to make this crumb cake, because it was really tasty.

Now, she’s been my best friend since we were 13 (and no, don’t ask me how long ago that was), so how could I doubt her?

And she was soooo right.

Now, I did make a little mistake. 

She said I would probably have all the ingredients lying around the house, so I didn’t pay attention—until I got to the biscuit mix.  (Gin [yes, I’m talking to you]– why would I have biscuit mix lying around?)

Um, I don’t think I’ve ever had biscuit mix in my house. 

Is that weird?

Anyway, I had to improvise, so you’ll find the changed recipe below.

I thought the crumb topping was going to be too much because there was A LOT of it.

Boy was I wrong.  Really really wrong.

The crumb topping was awesome!! 

So, listen to Virginia and me and make this cake.

Just don’t blame us if you eat the entire cake by yourself. 

.

.

Crumb Cake (adapted from Food.com)

Cake

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Cream butter and sugar.

Beat eggs and milk; mix with butter.

In another bowl, mix flour and baking powder, then add to butter mixture.

Stir in vanilla.

Pour batter into a greased 9 x 13 pan.

 

Topping

  • 1/2 cup butter (cold)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar

Cut butter into sugars, biscuit mix, and cinnamon.

Sprinkle over batter in pan, and don’t be shocked at how much there is!

Bake at 350° for 30 minutes or until done. 

(“Or until done?”  Can you really say that in a recipe? Does it defeat the purpose of saying 30 minutes? What if someone doesn’t know when it’s actually done? I thought that was funny, so I left it in there.  How about we change it to:  leave in for about 30 minutes, and check that a toothpick inserted in the cake comes out fairly clean. Phew, I feel better now!)

25 responses »

  1. Hi, I love your page ! This Crumb Cake looks so good and light and fluffy, makes me want to grab a bite right off the page.

    Reply
  2. Great looking crumb cake!

    Reply
  3. This looks like the perfect crumb cake. And girl, there can NEVER be enough crumb topping! Mine is usually at least an inch thick, lol.

    Reply
  4. mmm my mouth is watering! haha I don’t have biscuit mix lying around either 🙂

    Reply
  5. This sounds really delicious 🙂 and I’ll bet it was

    Reply
  6. It looks delicious! But isn’t 1/2 cup + 1/2 cup of butter a bit too much for a cake? I fear it may be a bit too heavy/greasy…not only in the stomach but also in the mouth, let’s say.

    Reply
    • Thanks! And yes, a cup of butter is a lot!! But it definitely wasn’t heavy or greasy– if it had been, I wouldn’t have been able to eat. It was light and fluffy!!

      Reply
  7. petit4chocolatier

    This looks so dainty delicious! I love the simplicity of it and especially the crumb topping! And I wouldn’t have a biscuit mix in the house either; that was too funny!

    Reply
  8. This looks delicious. I am going out this weekend to purchase me some american measures so I can actually make this as per your recipe and not guess my way through it. It looks so moist!! CANNOT WAIT. yummm xx

    Reply
  9. Thanks Ger. Seeing a picture of it makes me want to make it again right now. Love you!

    Reply
  10. I’ve never heard of crumb cake but it looks delicious! Must try soon. 🙂

    Reply
  11. Hi Ger! I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award =) Keep up the awesome posts & delish dishes ❤ http://whisksandruffles.com/2012/09/28/one-lovely-blog-award-nomination/

    Reply
  12. This looks so delicious! Hopefully I have all the ingredients to make it!

    Did you substitute the flour for biscuit mix?

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

