RSS Feed

Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies with Chocolate Chips

Posted on

I don’t like oatmeal cookies.

Maybe it’s because of the raisins.

Sometimes they’ve tricked me into thinking they were chocolate chips from afar. 

Huge letdown, if you ask me.

So, I guess if they were oatmeal cookies with chocolate chips, they would be ok.

But I found something even better– a recipe for these chocolate oatmeal cookies.

And guess what?  I added chocolate chips, just to annoy the raisins in the world.  🙂

They could totally win a cookie-stacking contest…

Everyone loved them—even me!!

You actually can’t even tell they’re oatmeal cookies.

Can you see the chocolate chips? I promise they’re in there!

They are very chocolatey– and so chewy in the middle.

Yum!

I got really good feedback for these, but the best was my 9-year-old’s.

I asked him what he thought and he replied, “They’re like… you need to make them 500 more times.”

Well, that sounds like he really liked them!

And it sounds exhausting.

So I probably won’t be making them 500 more times…

But I will definitely make them again!!

.

.

Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies with Chocolate Chips (adapted from Hershey’s Kitchens)

  • 1 cup  (2 sticks) butter or margarine, softened
  • 1-1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups quick-cooking oats
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Beat butter, granulated sugar and brown sugar in large bowl until light and fluffy.

Blend in eggs and vanilla.

Stir together flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt; gradually add to butter mixture, mixing well.

Stir in oats and chocolate chips. (Batter will be stiff.)

Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake at 350°F for 10 minutes or until set; cookies will be slightly moist in center.  Do not overbake.

Cool 1 minute; remove from cookie sheet to wire rack.

(This recipe makes a lot of cookies.  I actually halved it when I made mine, and it worked out well.)

22 responses »

  1. petit4chocolatier

    They look absolutely delicious! I just made chocolate cookies and wish I would have seen this recipe; I love them with the oatmeal!

    Reply
  2. They look yummy! How can you go wrong with chocolate and oatmeal??

    Reply
  3. these are the greatest idea ever. i HATE those stinkin raisins!! i always put lots of oats in my choc chip cookies (the way my mom made them), but my husband hates it. if i just make non-raisin oatmeal cookies to begin with, the oats are kind of the point and we can all be happy!

    Reply
  4. Yummy! I don’t like raisins, either. (Although I like grapes!) I started liking oatmeal cookies when I made them myself – sans raisins, but with chocolate chips instead. And then I found a recipe for oatmeal cookies with chocolate chips and candied ginger, and almost never deviate from that recipe… but this one looks great too! I may have to give it a try!

    Reply
  5. mmm these look so yummy! i love oatmeal cookies – they’re always the perfect chewy sweet snack 🙂

    Reply
  6. these look lovely..i love “davy crockett” cookies, which are just oatmeal with chocolate chips, but to make the oatmeal chocolate too,such a great idea.. sounds amazing..lovely post…sarah

    Reply
  7. Those look wonderful! I agree with you – the raisins in oatmeal cookies are always a huge let down, so chocolate chip ones – well, hello there! Thanks for the recipe!

    Reply
  8. Geraldine, I was reading all the posts about people who like the picture, say the cookies sound good, and couldn’t help but jump in and brag that I have tried these cookies and they are fantastic!! In addition to you ousting the raisins from the oatmeal partnership (thank you!), you also got everything in just the right balance for flavors/texture. The salt and chocolate were in perfect balance. It’s not too heavy either, so you get the chocolatey taste of a brownie, but without the gut-bomb feeling afterward.
    One last comment about all of your taste testings (thank you, Victor for sharing). I have become a big fan of the in between size you choose–bigger than a sample, smaller than the typical full-size. I know you are thinking this is a taste test size, but I think you should contemplate this as a part of your “signature” in your dessert business–everything is “just right” (size, sweetness, texture).

    Reply
    • Hi Mark– thanks so much!! I’m really glad you liked the cookies. As soon as I get some time, I’ll send in more goodies. 🙂 As for the size, I typically make things smaller than the usual size, and it’s not about taste testing. That’s just what I prefer in general. Glad you like that though– I always worried that people would think they were all too small! Thanks again for the awesome comments! 🙂

      Reply
  9. These look like deliciousness. I’m going to have to try this for sure! 🙂

    Reply
  10. these look gorgeous! I am definitely trying them out! Thanks! xx feel free to follow my blog as well! 🙂 http://homebakedcakes.wordpress.com/

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

