RSS Feed

Rum Cake

You know those times when you all of a sudden need a rum cake, and you just don’t have time to make one from scratch?

And you’re out of rum?

Don’t you hate when that happens?

OK, fine, it’s never happened to me either.

But you never know when you might have a rum cake crisis, and you need to be prepared.

This is when I cut it and it was still warm. Mmmmm…

That’s when this post will come in handy.

I love this recipe.  It is soooo easy.

OK, so it’s not made with real rum—but it still tastes like rum! 

And yes, I used a cake mix in there, but I was in a hurry.

But just look at it…  don’t you just want to take a bite?

OK, I hope I helped you through a potential rum cake crisis.

See you next time!

.

Rum Cake (adapted from McCormick)

  • 1 box of yellow cake mix
  • 1 box of instant vanilla pudding mix (3.5 oz)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 C butter
  • 2 Tablespoons rum extract

Beat all ingredients in large bowl with mixer on low to moisten.

Beat on medium for 4 minutes.

Pour into greased 12-cup bundt pan.

Bake at 325 degrees for one hour or until cake begins to pull away from sides of pan.

Let cool for 15 minutes in pan.

Remove from pan and pierce with fork.

For Glaze:

Mix 1/2 cup sugar, 1/4 butter and 2 tablespoons water.

Bring to boil on medium heat on boil one minute.

Remove from heat.

Stir in 1/2 teaspoon rum extract.

Pour over cake.

Start eating!

(NOTE:  If you want to use real rum, you can substitute 1 tablespoon of light rum for 1/2 teaspoon extract OR 1 tablespoon of dark rum for 1-1/2 teaspoons extract.)

38 responses »

  1. I want rum cake!

    Reply
  2. Lol – it’s all cool w/ the cake mix and the fake rum. This still sounds delicious! An old boss of mine used to make an amazing rum cake – I haven’t had it in years! Now you’ve got me craving a big ol’ slice…

    Reply
  3. Wow does that look so good and moist! I love rum cake but I never run out of rum! lol!

    Reply
  4. I found some rum in the back of the cupboard the other day and was wondering what to do with it… problem solved!

    Reply
  5. looks so good, but such a simple quick recipe..will have to give this a try..i love rum cake reminds me of the bahamas..lovely post..sarah

    Reply
  6. “Why is the rum always gone? (Stagger) Oh, that’s why.” (Capt. Jack Sparrow, Pirates of the Caribbean) The rum extract is a good idea. This looks very moist.

    Reply
  7. Yum, looks great! My Grandma used to make a cake like this. I wonder if she used a box too? I have a really similar recipe for Irish Cream cake – will send it to you! 😉

    Reply
  8. Wonderful this rum cake it seems so easy! I’ll try it.
    bye

    Reply
  9. petit4chocolatier

    Geraldine, what a beautiful bundt cake! Love the glaze with the rum extract! It sounds and looks so moist and delicious!

    Reply
  10. This looks very doable. I may just have to give it a go. If I was feeling extremely indulgent however I might consider sending for my favourite Rum Cake (not as family friendly as yours Ger) from Tortuga bakeries. If you haven’t tried it I would highly recommend. In the meantime I might make a journey to the rum store. Have a look at Tortuga here http://www.tortugarumcakes.com

    Reply
  11. Cake mix can be a great thing! 🙂 Looking forward to trying it 🙂

    Reply
  12. wow, this sounds easy and great!

    Reply
  13. My mom used to make a cake like this, and I forgot all about it! Yum, I am putting yours on my to do list! Thanks for sharing!
    Jenna

    Reply
  14. Anything is better with rum. I am excited about this one.

    Reply
  15. What a great idea — I love ideas for emergency substitutions.

    Reply
  16. Nothing wrong with quick and easy, especially in the midst of a cake crisis. Thanks for stopping by the Homestead! Merry Christmas!! ~ Jim

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

