RSS Feed

Cream Cheese Chocolate Chip Cookies

I heard about these cookies, and I wasn’t sure why you might want to put cream cheese in chocolate chip cookies.

I had to find out of course, so I made them:

These cookies have a different flavor than your average chocolate chip cookie, kind of tangy—and they’re soft!

I also made some with M&Ms.

Why?  Because I was bored.

Or maybe because I needed a splash of color.

Or I wanted variety.

I’m not really sure what made me do that.

Whatever the reason, it was a good idea because we liked them even more!

And they’re bite-sized, so they’re a perfect snack.

As long as you can get them before your kids eat them all.

You can always play “Rock, Paper, Scissors” to see who gets the last ones– although I never win in my house.

I played with my 3-year-old recently, and when we said “shoot,” I put up a rock, and he put up a gun.  What??  And, well, a gun shoots a rock.

So I thought I’d be cool and use that trick with my 9-year-old.  But when I put up my gun, he put up a force field.  Really??

Apparently, nothing can enter a force field, and so I lost again.

So, in summary– make these cookies because they’re good, and don’t play
Rock, Paper, Scissors for them.

Just hide some for yourself instead!

.

Cream Cheese Chocolate Chip Cookies (adapted from bakeorbreak.com)

  • 2-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 8 ounces low fat cream cheese, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1-1/2 cups chocolate chips (or M&Ms)

Beat butter, cream cheese, sugar, and brown sugar until fluffy.

Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition.

Mix in vanilla.

In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt.  Gradually add to mixture in first bowl, mixing until almost combined.

Add chocolate chips (or M&Ms), stirring until dough is thoroughly mixed.

Drop dough by tablespoonfuls onto prepared pans.

Bake at 350° for 12-15 minutes, or until edges are lightly browned.  (They almost seemed undercooked when I took them out, but were perfect once they cooled.)

Cool cookies completely on pan on wire racks.

32 responses »

  1. this recipe is now officially on my List:-) M&Ms are a fun stir-in!

    Reply
  2. But what happens when a force field meets another force field?… These look delicious!!

    Reply
  3. LOL..”a force field” .. that’s so clever .. ( and really funny too!!)
    these cookies look yummy & i love cream cheese in cookies 🙂

    Reply
  4. These sound great! I will be trying these for my cookie baking for the holidays. I think they need some holiday color! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  5. Thanks for sharing.

    Sent from my iPhone Cronda http://www.kandekups.wordpress.com

    Reply
  6. Yum, I love the idea of using cream cheese in chocolate chip cookies – great idea! Your cookies look so soft and moist – just the way I like them 🙂

    Reply
  7. Your kids are hilarious!! I would keep playing until I learned all their sneaky little tricks 🙂

    Reply
  8. petit4chocolatier

    Love the M&M’s with cream cheese in a cookie!! They look and sounds delicious!! Low fat and moist : )

    Reply
  9. glad you did some with m&ms they are my favorite…looks so yummy as always..lovely post..sarah

    Reply
  10. Oh I do love visiting your blog, even if it is dangerous! Love the idea of these, definitely a must bake.
    Abigail x

    Reply
  11. Throw dynamite. (that’s just your pointer finger). Dynamite beats all. The catch? You can only use dynamite once in your whole lifetime. So use it wisely. Like when there’s desseert on the line 🙂

    Reply
  12. Hi, I have nominated you for double awards! Please click on the link for more details! http://helpwithyourlife.wordpress.com/2012/11/28/enjoy-double-awards/ Congratulations! Blessings, Cathie

    Reply
  13. I’m a huge fan of cream cheese in just about anything, so adding them into cookies seems pretty genius to me 🙂

    Reply
  14. these look like heaven!

    Reply
  15. These look great! Love the idea of cream cheese!

    Reply
  16. Hey Geraldine..cookies look great. Never had some with cream cheese before. Going to make them. Hey I want to invite you to view my blog: savorthefood.wordpress.com.

    Thanks for sharing. Look forward to your future post’s.

    Chef Randall
    savortheffod.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

