RSS Feed

Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies

My kids all LOVE oatmeal.

And they call it Oat-Mee-Meal. 

It’s what they want to eat on weekends—even more than pancakes, or waffles, or pretty much anything else.

It’s a huge thing in my house.

So… whose kids ARE they??

Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies 2a

I mean, I never liked oatmeal. 

I’m ok with oatmeal cookies, but hot mushy cereal? No way.

In fact, I don’t even like cold mushy cereal.

Cereal should not be soggy, if you ask me.

So I eat my cereal dry, and I’m happy.

Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies 4a

OK, why do I always digress?

Let’s get back to these cookies.

They’re really good- with lots of butterscotch chips.

Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies a

And so easy to make. 

Seriously easy, which makes me almost as happy as eating them.

What’s the point of all this?  Don’t waste your oats on hot mushy cereal, when you can make these yummy cookies instead!  🙂

.

Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies (adapted from Nestle)

  • 1-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter or margarine, softened
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 cups quick or old-fashioned oats
  • 1-2/3 cups butterscotch chips
Combine flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon in small bowl.

In a large bowl, beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar, eggs and vanilla extract. Gradually beat in flour mixture.

Stir in oats and butterscotch chips.

Drop by rounded tablespoon onto ungreased baking sheets.

Bake for 7 to 8 minutes at 375 degrees.

Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

22 responses »

  1. I used to detest oatmeal too! I completely agree that it is best reserved for tasty cookies like these!!

    Reply
  2. Yummmm the butterscotch chip sound perfect in these cookies!

    Reply
  3. petit4chocolatier

    Scrumptious cookies Geraldine! I have never eating butterscotch and oatmeal; love it!

    Reply
  4. I love butterscotch in an oatmeal cookies — it is such a great combination. Looks like a great recipe.

    Reply
  5. I’ve never really been a fan of oatmeal either, but these cookies look fantastic!

    Reply
  6. Wow! These look delicious! Thank you Geraldine! 🙂

    Reply
  7. Read your post and laughed…my husband and son can’t stand a bowl of oatmeal. Actually makes them gag, but boy can they put down some oatmeal cookies! Thanks.

    Reply
  8. I love having cereal dry as well! As a kid I would always have my cheerios plain (I clearly wasn’t an oatmeal kid).
    These oatmeal cookies look fantastic, I love the addition of butterscotch. Seems like such a perfect pair with hearty oats 🙂

    Reply
  9. My kiddos also love the oatmeal – steel cut even! We’ll see about the butterscotch. I am definitely going to make these. Your photos are really great!

    Reply
  10. They look amazing. Yummie.

    Reply
  11. These look so good – my three little guys would love them – will have to try.

    Thanks for stopping by House of Bedlam and checking out our cookies.

    Happy Holidays!

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

