RSS Feed

Low Fat Raspberry Cookies

Let me start off by saying that these cookies were originally named
“Raspberry Strippers.” 

I couldn’t call them that without laughing (how mature), so I changed their name.

Just had to share that.

So anyway, here they are:

Raspberry Strips 2a

I’ve made these cookies many times, and they never disappoint.

They are easy to make, bite-sized, and yummy!

They’re also low fat, which makes them even more appealing (at least to me).

Raspberry Strips a

I thought I was finally done with the craziness of the holidays, but now it’s time to get ready for New Year’s Eve!

We eat lots of appetizers for New Year’s Eve (or hors d’oeuvres if you want to sound fancy), so small cookies would be fun, too!

OK, I’m not saying big cookies aren’t fun.

All cookies are fun.

But I was just trying to make a point.

Never mind…  go make these cookies!  🙂

Raspberry Strips 4a

.

.

Low Fat Raspberry Cookies (adapted from Cooking Light)

  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 5 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg white
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • Cooking spray
  • 1/3 cup raspberry preserves (I use jam instead)
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon almond extract

Beat granulated sugar and butter with a mixer at medium speed until well-blended (about 5 minutes).

Add 1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla and egg white; beat well.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, cornstarch, baking powder, and salt, stirring well with a whisk.

Add flour mixture to sugar mixture, stirring until well-blended. (Dough will be stiff.)

Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface. Divide dough in half. Roll each portion into a 12-inch log.

Place logs 3 inches apart on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray.

Form a 1/2-inch-deep indentation down the length of each log using your index finger or end of a wooden spoon. Spoon preserves into the center.

Bake at 375° for 20 minutes or until lightly browned. Remove logs to a cutting board.

Immediately cut each log diagonally into 12 slices. (Do not separate slices.) Cool 10 minutes.

Combine powdered sugar, lemon juice, and almond extract; stir well with a whisk. Drizzle sugar mixture over logs.

Transfer slices to wire racks. Cool completely.

37 responses »

  1. raspberry strippers is cute, but yeah–hard to explain to kids:-) I’d love to be in your household–so many treats!

    Reply
  2. Someone brought raspberry strippers to our Christmas cookie exchange! They’re so good, but you’re right, the name is a bit off-putting 🙂

    Reply
  3. How can these cookies look so decadently delicious and be low fat? It’s a Christmas miracle 😉 Happy holidays!

    Reply
  4. They look and sound beautiful! A perfect sweet treat for NYE.

    Reply
  5. These look super yummy! I sort of like their “stripper” name though. It’s ok to laugh. 🙂

    Reply
  6. These look great. Have to admit, i love the original name, lol.

    Reply
  7. These look wonderful. I will have to try them, but I think I will keep the original name for laughs!

    Reply
  8. petit4chocolatier

    These look absolutely gorgeous and delicious no matter what we call them!! Yum!!

    Reply
  9. LOL im so immature, i laughed at the name too!

    Reply
  10. My mom and I used to make something very similar when I was a kid – we called them Split Seconds. Not sure if its because they were quick to make or eaten up so quickly. Either way, I loved ‘me. Thanks for the reminder – gonna hunt down that recipe now 🙂

    Reply
  11. Just perfect for the after-holiday-season time, when we’re all trying to get back to less fatty food!

    Reply
  12. Hi! Just stopping by to say I really enjoyed following you and I have nominated you for a Versatile Blogger Award. If you’re interested in accepting, pop by http://matchamochimoo.wordpress.com/2013/01/03/thanks-for-the-norminations for more details and follow the rules. If you don’t like it, don’t worry, just leave it, that’s fine! 🙂 , I wish you a very happy 2013! 🙂

    Reply
  13. I think I might make these today. By the way, I’m glad you liked one of my posts because I really like your blog all of your foods look so good and they all have recipes, I will definitely be making some of these delicious treats 🙂

    Reply
  14. These look great, I’ll have to try them!

    Reply
  15. these look SO good!
    I might try and create a healthier version of it 🙂

    Reply
  16. Delicious looking! I’m going to make them as soon as i can! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

