RSS Feed

Chocolate Syrup Cake

Somehow, I ended up with a HUGE bottle of chocolate syrup in my house, that no one was eating.

We have ice cream all the time, but the chocolate syrup is forgotten.

Then one day, I ran across a recipe for a Chocolate Syrup cake.

To my surprise, it actually called for 1-1/2 cups of syrup!!

Chocolate Syrup Cake 5a

Then I read how easy it was to make and thought it was too good to be true.

But I tend to get overly excited about baking, so I ran it past my husband to see what he thought.

And he was skeptical.Β  He thought it was a little odd that it required so much syrup.

He even asked if perhaps it was a typo and it was supposed to be 1-1/2 tablespoons of syrup.

Um, really?Β  πŸ™‚

So after I laughed a bit, I went ahead with the recipe.

Chocolate Syrup Cake 4a

My kids squealed when they saw all the syrup go into the bowl.

My husband raised his eyebrow (still not sure how he does that).

I wondered how it would become a cake when it was so liquidy.

But 35 minutes later, we had a cake!!

Chocolate Syrup Cake 2a

I’m not sure why we doubted this poor cake, but if you like chocolate syrup, you’ll like the cake.Β  We especially liked it with my cream cheese frosting.

In fact, my kids liked it so much that I had to take these pictures at night, because I was afraid I wouldn’t have a piece to photograph in the morning!

.

Chocolate Syrup Cake (adapted from Hershey’s)

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1-1/2 cups chocolate syrup

Beat butter, sugar and eggs until thoroughly blended in large bowl.

Add flour and baking soda, blending well.

Add syrup; mix thoroughly.

Spread batter in greased 9 xΒ 13 bakingΒ pan.

Bake 35 minutes at 350 degrees,Β or until wooden pick inserted in center of cake comes out clean.

Cool completely in pan on wire rack.

Frost and garnish as desired.

28 responses »

  1. Looks good!! I love chocolate…..

    Reply
  2. This looks great! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Looks delicious! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. It’s always exciting to bake something completely new for a change – especially when it works! Abigail x

    Reply
  5. Sounds like a wonderful use for some extra chocolate syrup!

    Reply
  6. This looks so elegant. I love how easy it is to make up though for a quick dessert. Yum!

    Reply
  7. Definitely going to try this – it looks great!

    Reply
  8. petit4chocolatier

    Yum!!!

    Reply
  9. We, too, have an enormous bottle of choc syrup in the fridge. But, alas, we do not have the “no one’s eating it” problem. It goes on ice cream and in milk more often then I’m comfortable with (darn that husband). But this does look delish!! I hate taking pics at night (or in the winter, period, for that matter). How did you get it to look so nice in the photo??

    Reply
    • I think we forget about the chocolate syrup because my husband insists on getting like 10 different types of ice cream, so the kids are overwhelmed. Lol. As for the pictures– thanks! I actually thought they were awful pics, and that’s why I was explaining that I took them at night. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  10. I would’ve been a bit skeptical too. I’m so glad you took a leap of faith and made this recipe – your cake looks exquisite! So moist, light and chocolatey. I love that you drizzled it with even more chocolate sauce – you can never have enough, in my opinion!

    Reply
  11. What a great way to use something at home that is just sitting there, I need to do that more often! Awesome recipe πŸ™‚

    Reply
  12. num num num! For some reason I lost all of my “follows,” so hadn’t seen this post. Am back on the Pretty Baking train, though, so yeehaw. Thanks for stopping by foodforfun’s (expensive) buttermilk ice cream post:-)

    Reply
  13. This looks so yummy! I want some!

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

