RSS Feed

Butterscotch Caramel Bites

Posted on

My husband recently brought home a delicious cookie bar from work.

I wasn’t even sure what was in it, but I devoured it.

I later found out it was caramel and chocolate chips.

So I asked him to please get me the recipe.

At the last minute, IΒ decided that I was going to use butterscotch chips instead.

Caramel Butterscotch Bites 3a
What did my husband say when he tried mine?

Something to the effect of, “I wonder if you didn’t bake them correctly, or if he gave me the wrong recipe.”

So I broke down into tears and kicked him out.

Haha, just kidding.

Actually, I remembered that he doesn’t like caramel or butterscotch. πŸ™‚

Caramel Butterscotch Bites 2a
True, they didn’t come out just like the one he had brought home, but this one is delicious nonetheless.

To tell you the truth, many pieces didn’t even get past the cutting process.

I thought I was smart to cut them into bite-sized pieces, but that only makes you eat more of them!

They are addictive.

They sort of jump off the plate and into your mouth by accident.

I’m serious!Β 

Caramel Butterscotch Bites a
I definitely recommend that you make these.

Just don’t listen to my husband, ok?

.

.

Butterscotch Caramel Bites (my adaptation)

Crust:

  • 2 Cups white wheat flour (you can use all purpose)
  • 2 Cups quick- cooking oats
  • 1.5 Cups packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 Cup butter, softened

Filling

  • 1 Cup Butterscotch Caramel ice cream topping
  • 3 Tablespoons flour
  • 1 Cup butterscotch chips

In a large bowl, blend all crust ingredients at low speed until crumbly.

Press half of the mixture in bottom of aΒ greased 9 x 13 inch pan (reserve rest for topping).

Bake pan at 350 degrees for 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a small bowl, combine ice cream topping and 3 Tablespoons flour.Β  Set aside.

When you take the crust out of the oven, sprinkle with butterscotch chips.

Drizzle with caramel mixture.

Sprinkle with reserved crumb mixture.

Bake and additional 18 to 20 minutes, or until golden brown.

Cook completely.

Refrigate 1 or 2 hours until filling is set.

Cut into bite-sized pieces and enjoy!

40 responses »

  1. Yum! They look delicious!

    Reply
  2. Don’t listen to your hubby–he is not to be trusted as he does not like frosting. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  3. Your husband must be crazy like mine and believe that all desserts must be chocolate. hahaha I am in love with caramel and butterscotch! These look divine :9

    Reply
  4. Looks like you added a little cheese, too! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. This looks sooooo delicious! I’m more of a butterscotch and carmel fan than chocolate.. I would have LOVED this had I been your hubby!

    Reply
  6. Silly men, pretending to know what they’re talking about πŸ˜‰ These bars look amazing and although my favourite sweet in the world is chocolate, there’s no way I’m turning down butterscotch and caramel!

    Reply
  7. These sound yummy. I love caramel so I can’t wait to try them.

    Reply
  8. These sound and look delicious!!

    Reply
  9. I just brought a pack of butterscotch chips, now I know wht 2 do with them

    Reply
  10. Hi, I am so glad you liked my blog or I wouldn’t have found yours! Love your posts and I am now a fan!

    Reply
  11. Pingback: Sweet Blogger Nomination | Sugar Details

  12. Mmmm! 2 of my favourite things in one recipe: butterscotch and caramel! YUM! πŸ™‚ Thanks for dropping by the blog πŸ™‚

    Reply
  13. Ciao!
    Thank you for visiting my Gourmet blog and liking the chocolate cupcakes post.
    Nice post yours and don’t worry Italian husbands do the same! Even if I cook quite well he’s not able to admit ! Anyway I don’t care, the answer is looking at his face when he tastes dishes !!
    Congrats and come back soon!

    Reply
  14. I can see not liking butterscotch (because neither do I), but not liking caramel is just crazy talk …

    Reply
  15. Gosh, i’m totally going to have to try these!!! They look so yummy! – Though i would make with the Caramel…i’m not such a huge fan of butterscotch.

    Reply
  16. Joseph Michael

    These look great! Love your blog!

    Reply
  17. Hi… I wanted to try this recipe but didn’t have caramel at home, also my hubby doesn’t like it as well. So thought to try it without it, and replaced peanut butter (just because i love peanut butter, in everything :D) and it came out really really good. My husband became a fan of it and I will try with caramel next time. Maybe he will like that as well.
    Thanks for sharing this πŸ™‚

    Reply
  18. This seems heavenly! Too bad I don’t have butterscotch chips on hand,but this is such a delicious way to use them.

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

