RSS Feed

Minions Party (Part 1)

Posted on

My son decided he wanted a Minions party for his birthday.

I, of course, said sure– how hard could it be?

Someone really needs to slap me out of my dream world sometimes.

These guys were tough to make!

Minions Cakes a

These are chocolate, white, and strawberry cakes.

Oh, and did I forget to mention that I had to do all this with a broken finger?

Yes, I broke my finger 13 days ago playing basketball with my son…

As much as I hate to have a broken finger, at least I can say I have a “sports injury.”

I mean, what if I had broken it while washing dishes or something?  Pretty embarrassing.  

But catching a basketball?  Yeah, I’m cool.  🙂

Minions Cakes 3a

I made a yellow sheet cake, because the other 2 were apparently not enough…

You do think I’m cool, don’t you?

Well…?

Umm, ok, maybe when you see the rest of the Minion stuff I did with a broken finger in my next post…

81 responses »

  1. LOVE these!! They (and you) are so cool for a birthday! Hope he has a wonderful birthday!

    Reply
  2. lol–I just posted a part 1 post, too 🙂 Sorry to hear about the broken finger. The cakes look great, though, so you still rocked it. I’ve been guilty of overmaking cakes as well. Once made two princesses and a castle (none of them looked as professional as yours, mind you) for a family party of about 20. One cake would’ve been enough, right? You did good, Ger.

    On another note, unpacked yet? You know where to find your baking supplies anyway!

    Reply
    • Hi Liz! I just saw your post– nice!! Aw, thanks, glad you liked my cakes. Two princesses and a castle? Sounds perfect to me– making only one wouldn’t have been nearly as cute. Lol. And I’m sure they looked beautiful.
      Nope, not unpacked yet. Not sure if I’ll ever be! We are temporarily renting, so why bother? As long as I have my baking stuff (just found my cupcake stuff this week), I’m good! 🙂

      Reply
  3. oh my goodness. these are amazing! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Very cool indeed and a great mum 🙂

    Reply
  5. Those cakes are so impressive!

    Reply
  6. Wow! How cute are those cakes??? Thanks for your visit! I’ve checked out your blog in past and it really is great! So great in fact, that I am now a follower!

    Reply
  7. I couldn’t do that with ten functional fingers. Beautiful!

    Reply
  8. my little girl (who’s going to be 3) asked for a chocolate and strawberry batgirl cake. ugh, i always promised myself that i would make their cakes until they told me not to, but i think i’m going to need to call a bakery this time.

    Reply
  9. I wish you could have heard how excited I just got.
    I absolutely love this – Despicable Me is such a good film, and the minions are so cute! I’M SO HAPPY TO HAVE SEEN THESEEEE!
    Papoi!

    Reply
  10. Pingback: Minions Party (Part 1) | bambileigh

  11. What!! A sheet cake AND 2 minions? Those look amazing. I couldn’t make those even if I had 20 fingers. Kudos to you with your broken finger! Hope it recovers soon!

    Reply
  12. Your Minions are perfect! I showed them to my boys and they agree they are awesome! Can’t wait to see part 2.

    Reply
  13. These are very impressive! They look exactly like the characters, which is something not very easy to do 🙂 Do you have any hints for handling the fondant?

    Reply
  14. Fabulous!!!!! What a great Mom you are. They look so good.

    Reply
  15. You are truly talented. Thanks for stopping by. Have a fantastic weekend!

    Reply
  16. Cool for sure!! i just can stop looking at the pictures that must have been tough to make but it looks amazing!!!
    i hope your son enjoyed that 🙂

    Reply
  17. So cute! You did an amazing job!!!

    Reply
  18. Geraldine, how in the heck did you make these incredible cakes with a broken finger?! I bow down to you, lady. I can’t even draw a stick figure correctly with ten working fingers!

    Reply
  19. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves (#33) | studentspyglass

  20. Woah…these cakes are AMAZING! And you did it with a broken finger too? YOU’RE amazing!

    Reply
  21. Super cool! One day I am going to ask you to stop showing off, but not today. Keep it going Ger. Amazing as per usual.

    Reply
  22. I absolutely LOVE the minions! And I can’t wait for Despicable Me 2 to come out soon! Your Minion CAKE is soooo cute!!! (✿ ♥‿♥)
    Anyway, thank you so much for liking my Mango Cake post! ヽ(*≧ω≦)ノ

    Reply
  23. WOW! Kudos to you! Those look amazing! 🙂

    Reply
  24. Wow! Amazing cakes. I love these little guys, and I’m sure your son did too!

    Reply
  25. How awesomely cute are these cakes?? And with broken digits, too? That’s some talent right there, lady!

    Reply
  26. You are very talented! These look absolutely amazing. We look forward to seeing more of your creative creations. Thank you for visiting our blog as well and liking our post. Take care!

    Reply
  27. Those look amazing! Thanks for stopping by my blog and liking my recent post!

    Reply
  28. this looks amazing!! i always wonder how people make sure intricate cakes like these, im very impressed 🙂 ……just wanted to thank you for liking my german chocolate cake post which ultimately led me to your site. happy hump day!

    Reply
  29. Pingback: homebaked Despicable Me minion birthday cake | gollygoshgirl

  30. These are hilarious – and so beautifully done. My kids would be SO jealous!

    Reply
  31. You did a great job. I can’t even imagine doing all that with a broken finger. Can’t wait to see Part II!

    Reply
  32. Haha, that’s so awesome!

    Reply
  33. Wowww the Minions are soo cute! Well done!! 🙂

    Reply
  34. Oh my god, I’m super in love with the minions, they look incredibly cute!! You’re really talented!

    Reply
  35. These are amazing! Thanks so much for sharing the pictures. I don’t know how you did it with a broken finger. I am so impressed!

    Reply
  36. That is a fantastic cake! Thanks for sharing and I hope your finger gets well soon! LynnDavisCakes.com

    Reply
  37. Oh but they are brilliant! Totally worth the effort. Thanks for liking mm blog – I’m so glad it led me to yours x

    Reply
  38. Dear Geraldine,

    my roomy and I were fascinated by these two Minion-Cakes on the first photo. They are sooooo cute!!

    Well, our best friend’s birthday comes up and he would love to get one of those cakes for a present. Problem is: We have no idea how to make a cake like this. Do you have any good advise how to make it or maybe could send us the recipe?

    Greetings from Germany

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

