RSS Feed

Outer Space Party (Part 1)

Posted on

Wow, I’m really behind with these posts.  It’s been a crazy couple of months… birthday parties, trip to Disney, out-of-town guests, Easter, tornadoes, road trips, 2 graduations, a cruise… well, you get the idea.

Basically, the usual.

OK, let’s start with my son’s Outer Space party.

I decided to make easy cakes this time:

Spaceship cake 2a

This cake was over a foot long.

As easy as it seems, it took a ridiculously long time. 

Luckily, the Happy Birthday cake was a lot easier.

Instead of making it all in fondant, I used buttercream frosting, with fondant decorations:

Space cake a

 

Happy Birthday cake 2a

Then my 5-year-old wanted me to make little chocolate astronauts (I bought a mold), but  I thought they looked funny.  

He insisted.

I made them for him.

Then I hid them, hoping he’d forget. 

But of course, he didn’t forget.

I even distracted him with a bunch of other desserts.

He still asked for them.

I acted like I didn’t know what he was talking about.

He described them.

I gave up.

I took them out of the hiding place and set them out with a quick planet cake I whipped up:

Planet cake a

Yeah, I don’t even want to talk about it.  Lol.

But he was happy with it, so that’s all that matters.  Right???

OK, as long as you know that I didn’t approve of the cake…  Moving right along…

Check out the rocket piñata my husband made (it was over 3 feet long)!

Rocket pinata 2a

And let’s end with the cheese cut out in star shapes.  I was really excited about these, for some reason:

Star cheese a

See you for Part 2!

 

 

20 responses »

  1. These are the coolest cakes! I just love them. You always amaze me with your creativity and ability. I think the world cake and astronauts are cute, too. The cheese stars are a great addition in keeping with the theme. Your kids are very blessed. Thanks so much for sharing!

    Reply
  2. Oh! I like the cheese stars as well. its like stars and planets in a bowl. COOL. I will have to remember that idea for when my son is a bit older.

    Reply
  3. Wow, when you make a cake you go all out, so impressive every time!

    Reply
  4. it’s all amazing and great fun. Nothing wrong with those astronauts! lol that there’s a part 2. You’ve done more than the average mom 🙂

    Reply
  5. lol! I love the little chocolate astronauts! They’re so cute and I can’t stop laughing at their poses. All the cakes look great. You must’ve had a lot of guests to make 3 cakes!

    Reply
    • Thank you!! Glad people are liking those silly astronauts! Lol. We had 45 guests, but I tend to make several cakes regardless of how many guests we have. And you’ll see all the other desserts I made if you read Part 2 (coming soon)! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Wow! They all look awesome! And there’s nothing wrong with your astronauts 🙂

    Reply
  7. That first one is so cool/cute.

    Reply
  8. This is very cool! 🙂 your cakes look awesome, and I love the crackers and star-shaped cheese

    Reply
  9. What’s wrong with the astronauts? I like them.

    Reply
  10. I love your party ideas! My boys would love them too : )

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

