RSS Feed

4th of July Desserts 2014

Posted on

Unlike last year’s 4th of July messy but yummy desserts,”   this year my desserts weren’t awful looking!  Yay!

I made this jello:

Jello cups a

Jello cups 2a

I thought I was clever for choosing something easy like jello, but it took sooo long to make!

First, I made the blue layer and let it set for an hour.

Then I went to make the cream layer, and found that the heavy cream and sour cream had frozen in my refrigerator!

So I had to wait for them to defrost.

Then I made the cream on the stove, which took forever since I had to stir constantly…

Then another hour for it to set.

Then the red layer– yet another hour.

I was kicking myself for choosing this dessert.

Plus I ended up with no time to make another dessert once I was done.

Luckily, in the middle of waiting for the jello layers, I made these:

Pretzels a

Of course, I have a big problem melting chocolate, so I wasn’t thrilled with this one either.

But in the end, even though the desserts drove me crazy, they looked pretty and they tasted good.

(By the way, my husband actually really liked the jello dessert– even though he hates jello and didn’t like the cream part on its own.  Which doesn’t make too much sense, but we’ll go with it.)

Yay!

 

 

12 responses »

  1. Hi – these desserts look fab! The jelly (I’m British!) looks really good
    and I want to try some of those pretzels – I love the sweet/salty combo.

    Reply
  2. These are so cute! Love it!!

    Reply
  3. Looks great! I agree with your husband – I don’t like jello or cream but I do like those jello cream mixtures!

    Reply
  4. Happy 4th to you and yours 🙂

    Reply
  5. Jello’s so easy but always visually impressive!

    Reply
  6. I use a double boiler for pretzel dipping. I make these often for my kids. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
    • I’ve tried a double boiler, microwave, special chocolate melting pot– you name it. I think I wrote a post on my chocolate-melting experiences, too! I just can’t get it liquid enough, no matter what I do!

      Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

