Peanut Butter Cookies

Posted on

These peanut butter cookies were a hit.

Especially among the men.

I guess they’re manly cookies?

I wanted to drizzle chocolate on them, but I was met with opposition.  I guess that would make them less manly?

I don’t know– I still can’t figure it out.

Peanut butter cookies a

(On a totally random note…
why won’t WordPress let me change my font color anymore?

That is kinda stressful, because I was used to blue font.

And stress can kill, you know.  It nearly killed me yesterday, but that’s another story.

OK, that’s the end of my randomness…)

Peanut butter cookie a

The original recipe has these cookies rolled in sugar.

I tried a few like that, but once again– opposition.

Not manly enough either, it seems.

So… here they are, just peanut buttery goodness– no frills.

Peanut butter cookies 2a

.

.

Peanut Butter Cookies (adapted from Betty Crocker)

  • 1/2  cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2  cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2  cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/4  cup butter, softened
  • 1/4  cup shortening
  • 1  egg
  • 1-1/2  cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2  teaspoon baking powder

Stir together sugar, brown sugar, peanut butter, butter, shortening and egg.

Stir in flour, baking soda and baking powder.

Shape dough into 1-inch balls. Place about 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake at 375ºF for 8 to 10 minutes or until edges are light brown. Cool on wire rack.

About Geraldine

I love to bake and share ideas for inspiration. Follow me on Instagram, too! @gerporco

50 responses »

  1. Your peanut butter cookies look absolutely perfect!

    Reply
  2. I think they’re beautiful, and I prefer peanut butter cookies to not be rolled in sugar – does that make me a man? Eep!

    Reply
  3. Yum- PB cookies! Always a favorite around the holidays! I came across your page and saw so many delicious recipes that I had to nominate you for the Super Sweet Blogging Award- I hope you’ll accept! You can find the details at http://bakencreate.wordpress.com/2013/01/07/super-sweet-blogging-award/!

    Reply
  4. I vote for a drizzle of chocolate, though am not a man so… ??

    Reply
  5. These look delicious Geraldine! Can’t wait to try them!
    Hope you had a great Xmas and have a Happy New Year! 🙂

    Reply
  6. These look fantastic. So thick and soft! And I agree… something about PB cookies screams MANLINESS.

    Reply
  7. My fav cookies! I like to make peanut butter blossoms or add peanut chips, too. Mmmmmmm

    Reply
  8. My favorite cookies ever! I also like them with no frills and I’m not a man! Just these and a glass of milk and all is well with the world!

    Reply
  9. petit4chocolatier

    These look very delicious 🙂

    Reply
  10. Wow, these look delicious 🙂 can’t wait to try them… Peanut butter is amazing! – I have some peanut butter truffles on my blog if you would like to try? x

    Reply
  11. Why butter and shortening and not just butter? Just curious.

    Reply
  12. Oh yum, these look great!

    Reply
  13. Peanut butter cookies are my favorite, and these look yummy! I will have to try them some time.

    Reply
  14. These just look amazing! Perfect cookies! Wow!

    Reply
  15. Peanut butter cookies are ALWAYS a hit in this house!

    Reply
  16. I have to try that! yumm… I need to buy more peanut butter. 😀

    Reply
  17. Mmmmm yummy and they look so perfect too! 🙂

    Reply
  18. Hahaha! the “not so manly” term was really funny… 🙂 Thank you for these recipe… 🙂 I’ll try this as soon as possible.. 🙂 I’ve been wanting to bake peanut butter cookies for like forever… 🙂

    Reply
  19. Who doesn’t love peanut butter cookies?? This recipe looks awesome. When the mood strikes, these are o my agenda!

    Thanks!

    Guy Humeniuk

    Reply
  20. I was just feeling in the mood for making biscuits and now I shall try these peanut ones. Thank you.

    Reply
  21. alexandracharlottepullen

    These look so tasty!

    Reply
  22. Thanks for liking my post “Nana’s Butter Cookies Version 2.0” http://tracynieradka.wordpress.com/2014/07/28/nanas-butter-cookies-version-2-0/

    These peanut butter cookies look great! I’d love to see you post more recipes!

    Reply
  23. These look great! Perfectly cracked.

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!