RSS Feed

Cake with Vanilla Mousse Filling

I’m tired.  Really, really tired.

So much to do and I can’t get enough sleep.

And that’s why this cake doesn’t look so pretty.

White cake with mousse 3a

OK, I’m lying.

No, I’m not lying about being tired.

I really am tired.

And I’m not lying about it not being so pretty.

I’m lying about that being the reason the layers are messy.

“That” being that I’m tired.

And messy meaning not so pretty, as I stated above.

Whoa, this is getting complicated.

Are you following me?

White cake with mousse 2a

OK, let’s start again.

The layers are messy because this is the first time I ever made a layer cake with mousse in the middle.

Phew, I feel much better now that I told you the truth.

I somehow have to figure out how to make the layers the same size.

But the good news is that it tasted really good!

Oh yeah, and that the mousse filling is ridiculously easy to make.

So please ignore the uneven layers and messy frosting (which is buttercream, by the way), and focus on how yummy it will taste if you make it yourself.

Yum.

.

.

Really Really Easy Mousse Cake Filling (recipe from Food.com)

  • 1 pint heavy whipping cream
  • 1 (3 1/2 ounce) box instant vanilla pudding mix
In a chilled metal bowl, beat whipping cream on medium-high speed until it begins to thicken.
Gradually add in the instant pudding mix and continue to beat, just until thick.
Put it in your cake!
99 responses »

  1. Regardless of you being tired this looks delicious right about now!

    Reply
  2. lol – messy or not (and I don’t think this looks messy) I’d eat it because it looks delicious!

    Reply
  3. I am focusing on the ‘Yum’ factor here and am very close to making a dash to the super market for mousse ingredients. The only thing that’s stopping me is torrential rain outside. I wonder which force is stronger – a cake craving or aversion to inclement weather….

    Reply
  4. I bet this tastes crazy amazing though..! Oh my. I want cake for breakfast now.

    Reply
  5. Looks absolutely Devine to me! See we couldn’t even tell if you were tired 😉

    Reply
  6. This looks SO delicious! And what is this nonsense about messy layers?! I think it looks great 🙂

    Reply
  7. Love how simple this is. And I totally agree with Heather — it looks great! 🙂

    Reply
  8. petit4chocolatier

    Looks really delicious!!

    Reply
  9. I think it looks delicious – not at all messy. As my Mimi would say, “It’s all going to the same place anyway.” What a great recipe.

    Reply
  10. Looks very yummy. What messy layers? I don’t see anything messy. Great job I say. You may want to try measuring the batter when you put it into the pans before baking. Makes it easier to get layers about the same size.

    Reply
  11. This looks delicious!! How do you think the vanilla mousse filling compares with a regular buttercream?

    Reply
  12. You posted this just in time. My granddaughter and I will be making Napoleons this Saturday and I’m using this as a filling…thanks!!!

    Reply
  13. It does look delicious, and that’s really all that matters. Although I do think it also looks pretty!

    Reply
  14. Oh, and thanks for visiting!

    Reply
  15. This sounds really tasty. I’ll have to try it with my next cake.

    Reply
  16. This looks fantastic! Makes me want some right now 🙂

    Reply
  17. I tried this today for the filling of a chocolate mayonnaise cake. I got RAVE reviews!! So thank you so much!!!

    Reply
  18. It sounds like a winner to me and it”s just the recioe I was looking for!

    Reply
  19. I made this vanilla mousse to fill my cupcakes for one of my son’s end-of-school year party. What a hit!! And the looks of surprise from everyone when they bit in . . . hilarious and priceless! Wish I had recorded it! I am now going to make the chocolate mousse to fill a birthday for my other son. Can’t wait to see everyone’s face on this one! (I scoured the internet looking for this recipe, forgetting that I had bookmarked it. Glad I remembered to check bookmarks – this is DEFINITELY a keeper!!! Thank you SOOOOO much!!!!)

    Reply
  20. Hi Geraldine,

    (That was my mom’s name, too.) Thanks for popping by my blog.

    I’ll certainly be visiting yours again. Great recipes, and pics! Of all the things I bake (I bake a lot with chocolate), I think white or yellow cake with a custard or mousse filling and white icing has to be my favorite. This one looks very good.

    Reply
  21. Do you know if i could make a vanilla mousse like the way you made yours? I guess just by adding vanilla extract? And if so, how much extract do you think is necessary?

    Reply
  22. Does it require refrigeration?

    Reply
  23. And for chocolate.. Do I just use chocolate pudding mix?

    Reply
  24. Hi Geraldine ! Thanks for visiting and liking my post . In this way I get a chance to read yours and believe me these un even layers are the beauty of home made cake and your filling sounds delicious .

    Reply
  25. I just made this and it came out super thick .. is that okay? It’s delicious, but thick.
    Also, I’m doing a baby shower cake this Friday and my friend wants vanilla cake, vanilla mousse filling w/fresh strawberries and my home made buttercreme which is a butter/shortening/vanilla blend. Do you think that will all taste good together or should I try a different vanilla mousse recipe?

    Reply
    • I think you might have mixed it a little too long. Try mixing less next time so it’s not so thick. As for the buttercream, I always make this cake with a buttercream frosting, and love the way it tastes with the vanilla mousse filling, so I think you’ll be fine!

      Reply
      • Yeah, that’s what I’m thinking. The Bachelor Finale sucked me in and I forgot about it for a little, lol. I have to make a pretty huge batch Friday, so I’ll do them in smaller amounts and whip it a little less. It tasted amazing, was just a little on the thick side! Thank you for responding so quickly!! I appreciate it and love this recipe!!

        Reply
  26. This does look delicious!! I love instant pudding mix– I use just a tsp. of vanilla pudding mix in whipping cream to stabilize it when I’m doing cream for short cake etc. And this filling looks kind of like that — I’m going to give it it a try. thanks!

    Reply
  27. Looks delicious to me and not messy at all!

    Reply
  28. Looks absolutely delicious! Does this vanilla mousse recipe hold well if piped onto cupcakes?

    Reply
  29. Can the vanilla mousse be piped onto cupcakes and hold up well for a few hours?

    Reply
    • Hi Erica– as I said before, I think it might work. But I didn’t know you wanted it to hold up for a few hours! I make my cakes a few hours before I serve them, and the mousse filling is great– but I don’t know if it would hold its shape if piped on. I’m sorry– you might have to try it and see. Otherwise, you could make it into a cupcake filling. If you do try it, let me know how it goes!

      Reply
  30. I love the flavor of this mousse!
    Can this be used 48 hours before the cake is consumed (actually filled in the cake 48 hours prior)? Thanks!

    Reply
    • I usually make it the night before and fill the cake a few hours before the party. But you can fill it ahead of time– as long as you keep the cake refrigerated. Hope that helps!

      Reply
  31. Your cake looks just fine! If I could eat dairy, I’d make that mousse. 🙂 (thanks for liking my blog post…. 🙂 )

    Reply
  32. Hi so we don’t have to set the pudding mix first. We can add it directly from the box.,

    Reply
  33. No apologies that your layers are “messy”. That invites us all to give it a try without worrying about a Martha Stewart evaluation! (not a dis on her – I’ve learned a lot from her 😉 And thanks for liking my Einkorn baking post!

    Reply
  34. I have learned looks don’t count as long as it tastes good!

    Reply
  35. I am making a three layer cake and wanted to know how many layers does this recipe supply? so happy this is an easy recipe. Making my sons 1st birthday cake and this is the first layered cake I have ever made.. WISH ME LUCK

    Reply
    • I found that it makes enough for a thick layer of mousse in a 10″ cake. If you make an 8″ cake, you have enough for 2 thinner layers of mousse (still plenty). Does that help? Good luck– and I’d love to see pictures!! 🙂

      Reply
  36. This looks super yummy!! I’ve never tried mouse filling, but have done many layer cakes. One of the things I do to try to keep the fillings the same is I put some of the filling (not jelly!) in a decorating bag with a large hole tip. Then pipe around the edge of the top of the bottom layer so there is a little “ridge”. After I have the ridge, I just add the filling to the top of the ridge. I do this for as many layers as I have. I don’t know if this is the proper way, but it works for me.

    My 11 year old son loves to bake so I think we are going to try your mouse recipe on a cake for dessert tonight!

    Reply
  37. Oh my! Oh my! I should not look at this cake when I am hungry! This looks delicate and delicious. Blessings.

    Reply
  38. How many cups does this yield? Thanks for this easy recipe!

    Reply
  39. Do you make the instant pudding first and add that to the whipping cream? Or are you adding just the instant pudding powder to the whipping cream?

    Reply
  40. Della K McArthur

    I’d like to make this filling for a wedding cake I’m doing… would this need refrigeration? I’m not sure how long it would be ok sitting out until the cake cutting.
    Thanks!

    Reply
    • Yes, I would refrigerate it. I usually make the mousse the night before, keep it in a bowl in the refrigerator, and assemble the cake the next day. How many hours would it be sitting out? I’ve made it in the morning and served in the afternoon, so it’s ok for a while.

      Reply
      • Thanks for the quick reply! It will be setting the cake up at 9:00 and the reception starts at 1:00, so it’ll be out for about 4 hours. I’m debating if I should use a different recipe for the filling… this one is so good though!

        Reply
  41. I donate ‘special occasion’ cakes for the local Fisher House. For the 4th, the Director asked if I could do a mousse filling. I said ‘Sure!” even though I had never done one before. Anyway, long story short, your mousse recipe saved me and the cake! This recipe is amazing! I used red velvet instant pudding and they loved it and I love it and will be doing it again and again. Thank you so much for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!

