Cake with Vanilla Mousse Filling

I’m tired.  Really, really tired.

So much to do and I can’t get enough sleep.

And that’s why this cake doesn’t look so pretty.

White cake with mousse 3a

OK, I’m lying.

No, I’m not lying about being tired.

I really am tired.

And I’m not lying about it not being so pretty.

I’m lying about that being the reason the layers are messy.

“That” being that I’m tired.

And messy meaning not so pretty, as I stated above.

Whoa, this is getting complicated.

Are you following me?

White cake with mousse 2a

OK, let’s start again.

The layers are messy because this is the first time I ever made a layer cake with mousse in the middle.

Phew, I feel much better now that I told you the truth.

I somehow have to figure out how to make the layers the same size.

But the good news is that it tasted really good!

Oh yeah, and that the mousse filling is ridiculously easy to make.

So please ignore the uneven layers and messy frosting (which is buttercream, by the way), and focus on how yummy it will taste if you make it yourself.

Yum.

.

.

Really Really Easy Mousse Cake Filling (recipe from Food.com)

  • 1 pint heavy whipping cream
  • 1 (3 1/2 ounce) box instant vanilla pudding mix
In a chilled metal bowl, beat whipping cream on medium-high speed until it begins to thicken.
Gradually add in the instant pudding mix and continue to beat, just until thick.
Put it in your cake!

About Geraldine

I love to bake and share ideas for inspiration. Follow me on Instagram, too! @gerporco

131 responses »

  1. Did you frost the cake with the same filling?

    Reply
  2. Hi there,
    I would really like to make the vanilla mouse but could you please tell me how much instant vanilla pudding is need in grams ,as i don’t understand in the other measurements.
    Kind regards
    Vesna

    Reply
  3. Looks delicious!

    Reply
  4. How many days ahead can you make this?

    Reply
  5. Do you just add the pudding dry to the heavy whipping cream?

    Reply
  6. Would it be OK to make this moose filling the day before and storing it in the refrigerator?

    Reply
  7. Hi! I’m thinking of using this filling in a wedding cake that I have to make and am wondering will the cake need to be refrigerated with this filling in it?

    Thank you!
    Carol

    Reply
  8. There are tools in cake making that really help. I have a cake leveler that cuts off the mound that I do often have on top of layer. That being said the cake looks delicious😋I am going to try this 🎂🎂

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!