Low Fat Chocolate Chip Yogurt Cookies

Posted on

I’M BACK!!

Moved to Alabama 3 weeks ago and still living out of boxes.

But… I finally found all my baking supplies, so I can bake again!!  Yay!

I had some yogurt in the house and saw this recipe, so here are some yummy low fat cookies!

Low Fat Yogurt Cookies with Chocolate Chips 6a

I have to be honest with you– this one makes me want to eat my computer screen…

I actually got annoyed by the recipe because it called for mini chocolate chips, and I’m not a fan.  I prefer to have big chunks of chocolate.

I thought they were trying to cut down on the fat by adding very few itty bitty chocolate chips.

I was angry at the cookbook. 

I almost rebelled and put regular chocolate chips—and more of them!

Low Fat Yogurt Cookies with Chocolate Chips 5a

But at the last minute, I noticed I had exactly ½ cup of mini chocolate chips (what a coincidence, huh?)

So I used it.

And interestingly, I was glad I did. 

Look at all the yummy chocolate chips!

Low Fat Yogurt Cookies with Chocolate Chips 4a

I guess I can be a rebel next time.  🙂

.

.

Low Fat Chocolate Chip Yogurt Cookies (by Pillsbury)

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/4 cup margarine
  • 1/4 cup shortening
  • 1/2 cup nonfat plain yogurt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Beat sugar, butter, and shortening until light and fluffy.

Add yogurt and vanilla; blend well.

Stir in flour, baking soda and salt.

Stir in chocolate chips.

Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls on ungreased cookie sheets.

Bake at 375°F for 8-12 minutes, or until light golden brown.

About Geraldine

I love to bake and share ideas for inspiration. Follow me on Instagram, too! @gerporco

29 responses »

  1. Welcome back! (I’ve never used mini chocolate chips, I’m a believer in going big with the chocolate, but you have me convinced here!)

    Reply
  2. looks good and congrats on the move 🙂 Good luck with the unpack. Glad you’re back in the kitchen!

    Reply
  3. Welcome to the great state of Alabama!

    Reply
  4. Ah yummy! I want to eat my computer screen too now! 😀

    Reply
  5. Those little mini chips are tricky.. you think you’re going to get cheated but all it does is spread them everywhere throughout the cookie!

    Reply
  6. Welcome back! I have moved 3 month ago and I have just finished to open the boxes. The first boxI unpack was the baking one! Anyway, these cookies are amazing!

    Reply
  7. great treat recipe 🙂

    Reply
  8. but where did you take the recipe from?

    Reply
  9. These look delicious!! Thanks for stopping over at my blog and giving me a “like.” I do appreciate it.

    Reply
  10. haha, I liked that you were angry at the cookbook b/c the recipe called for mini chocolate chips. I would feel the sam way :).

    Reply
  11. Welcome in your new home! Very impressive that you manage to whip cookies looking this gorgeous in the middle of the frenzy of a house move!

    Reply
  12. I am pinning this to add to my need-to-make recipes! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!