Daily Archives: June 12, 2012

White Chocolate Chip Bars

Posted on

I am so glad these are yummy, because it was quite an ordeal to make them.

This story is for those of you who think it was an effortless baking session.

 

So I melted the butter.  Check.

Wait, it said unsalted.

Oops.

Then I went to get the light brown sugar.

There was only dark.

I freaked out a little.

But I made an adjustment and proceeded.

 

Then vanilla extract.

There’s no more.  Well, a drop or so.

Seriously, could I really be having a vanilla extract emergency??  Yes.

So I freaked out some more.

Once I got myself back together, I did some modifications and hoped for the best…

 

They were crunchy on the outside and oh so soft in the middle.

And oh so good.  

Disaster averted and a new bar created.

Nice.  🙂

 

White Chocolate Chip Bars

  • 3/4 C butter
  • 1 1/8 C packed dark brown sugar
  • 1 1/8 C sugar
  • 1/2 T vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 C all-purpose flour (I used King Arthur whole white wheat)
  • 1 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1 1/2 C white chocolate chips

Grease 9 x 13 baking pan.

Beat butter, sugars, vanilla, and eggs in large bowl until light and creamy.

Stir in flour and baking powder until well blended.  Stir in 1 cup white chocolate chips.

Spread mixture in the pan.

Bake 25 minutes, or until light golden brown and the center is set.

Cool completely in the pan.

Melt remaining white chocolate chips and drizzle on top.