Daily Archives: June 9, 2012

Dragon Cakes (Part 2)

Posted on

For the dragon party, I decided to make individual cupcakes for each child to take home.

You can imagine my surprise when I found out there would be 20 kids coming.

And even more surprising was how long it took to make each little dragon.

But I figured the kids would be happy.  I even put them in cute little cupcake boxes with a dragon sticker on top.

But what kid is happy with one little box?

So I made chocolate lollipops too.

Then I needed one more cake, but it had to be simple since I had no time.

Well, I suppose I didn’t NEED another cake.

OK, in my mind I did.

Anyway, I figured that carving a smaller dragon would be way easier, and using frosting was way faster than using fondant.

Wow, I must’ve been really tired when I came up with that.

Needless to say, it took way longer than I expected.  I piped buttercream frosting until my hands were numb!

FYI, I was going for a muddy area that he was walking on, but in the picture it just looks like I don’t know how to frost a cake.

HA HA.

OK, don’t laugh.