Daily Archives: June 24, 2012

Cakes From Birthdays Past- Part 2, “My 5-Foot-Long Train Cake”

Posted on

Last year, I decided to have a train party for my son’s birthday.

Another birthday, another crazy cake.

Yes, the train cake was actually 5 feet long.

In progress…

Why was it 5 feet long, you ask?

Well…

Because there were a lot of people…

Because I wanted 6 different cake flavors…

Because the cake pans were large… 

OK, I don’t know why it was that big—other than I must be crazy.

Still in progress…

The wheels were Oreos.  The tracks were wafer cookies and Oreo Sticks.  There was even a car full of M&Ms.

The kids loved it!

So… what did I do after I finished making this cake?

I made cupcakes and a small cake, of course! 

I made the little trains with chocolate molds.

And I think this is the first time I ever piped frosting– the little train tracks.

I was very proud of myself.  🙂

And here is the finished cake.

Yeah,  I didn’t take a good picture before the party– and I was too busy during the party.

I’ve since learned my lesson.  🙂

(For more theme party ideas, see my cake gallery.)