Daily Archives: June 21, 2012

Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

Posted on

I know, I know, everyone makes chocolate chip cookies all the time.  Nothing exciting.

But you don’t understand…

I can’t live without them.

I LOVE chocolate chip cookies.  I really mean LOVE.

This was the first time I used this recipe, but I put dark chocolate chips in them, just for a change.

What a good change.  🙂

So about me and chocolate chip cookies…

We are inseparable.

I will hide them from people.  Seriously.

Because they’re mine.

I’m kidding. Ha!

(No, I’m actually not kidding.) 

Anyway, enough about me. Let’s talk about them.

These cookies are really, really good. Everyone liked them.

They are so chewy, which is awesome.

So, I found another yummy chocolate chip cookie recipe.

Yay!

OK, if you don’t want a chocolate chip cookie right now, then something’s wrong…

Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies (adapted from Desserts By the Yard)

  • 1-1/2 C all purpose flour
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/2 C (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 1/2 C packed light brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 1 C dark chocolate chips

Sift together the flour and baking soda and set aside.

Cream the butter on medium speed, about 2 to 3 minutes.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl.

Add the sugar, brown sugar, and salt to the butter.  Continue creaming on medium speed until smooth and lump-free, about 1 minute.  Scrape down the sides.

Add the egg and vanilla and beat on low speed for 15 seconds, or until the egg is fully incorporated.  Do not overbeat.

On low speed, add the sifted flour mixture.  Beat slowly until incorporated.

Mix in dark chocolate chips.

Spoon heaping tablespoons onto the baking sheet, 2 inches apart.

Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes.  (Place on middle rack, rotating the sheet from the middle rack to the bottom rack halfway through baking.)

Remove and cool on cooling rack for 5 minutes (if you can wait that long)!