Daily Archives: June 8, 2012

My Dragon Cake (Part 1)

Posted on

My son recently asked for a dragon birthday party.

I suppose I could’ve bought a plastic dragon and put it on top of a sheet cake.   But why would I do something easy, when I could cause myself extra stress instead?

And then he said it had to be yellow.

Yellow?  Really?

OK, yellow it is:

I carved him out of several different flavored cakes, and then covered him in fondant, with gumpaste for his nails, spikes, and horns.

The fondant scales took hours to apply (note that my husband stayed up all night putting them on for me after I passed out from exhaustion)!

The board was over 2 feet long, so it took forever to make this cake.

But totally worth it.

I actually got attached to the little guy. I hope you like him too!

And stay tuned for Part 2, with Dragon Cupcakes…