Daily Archives: June 5, 2012

Low Fat Chocolate Cookies with Chocolate Chips

Posted on

My friend Dana asked why I don’t have recipes on my blog. 

And a few minutes later, she emailed me a recipe.

Hmmm…

So I made the cookies, and here they are! 

They are low fat and have hidden mini chocolate chips in them.

No, they don’t taste low fat.  Seriously.

And yes, they are good.

And they are gone.

They went really fast.

They are actually drop cookies, like the ones below, but they didn’t look pretty enough for me, so I flattened half of them.

I have to say though– the drop cookies seem to have a better texture than the flat ones.  So if you decide to make these, I recommend doing it just as the recipe says. 

The kids loved them.

My husband, on the other hand, didn’t say anything.

So I waited.  And I worried.

And then he confessed to stuffing 6 of them in his mouth while I wasn’t looking.

Not bad.

 

Low Fat Chocolate Cookies with Chocolate Chips

  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/3 cup miniature chocolate chips

In a large bowl, beat butter and sugars together with an electric mixer until creamy.

Add egg white and vanilla and mix until well blended.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking soda, salt and cocoa powder.

Gradually add flour mixture to egg and sugar.

Use a spoon to work the dough together. Don’t worry if the dough seems a little crumbly at first.

Stir in chocolate chips.

Drop cookie dough by the teaspoonful on to a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper or a silicone mat if you have one.

Bake at 350 for 7 minutes.

Cool on cookie sheet for 1 minute, then transfer to wire rack to cool completely.