Sour Cream Mini Donuts

Posted on

I don’t want to confuse you.

Because all kinds of havoc is created when people get confused about baked goods.

I’ll explain below, but for now, I just want to tell you that even though this recipe is for sour cream donuts, they don’t taste like your typical sour cream donut.

They are kinda chewy. 

With a little Italian Zeppole thrown in.

And some funnel cake.

However, the recipe was for fried donuts, and I decided to bake the first set.  Bad idea in this case. The baked ones are good with glaze, yet I’m not too thrilled with them. 

But I had to show you a picture because they’re cute, aren’t they?  🙂

Now, I never fry anything in my house, but my husband convinced me that we needed to try SOME of these fried.

So he fried the rest of the dough:

And no, these don’t taste like donuts either.

Let’s call them Dough Balls of Yumminess. 

They are best eaten fresh, and warm.  With powdered sugar.  (They’re ok when they cool, but not nearly as good.)

And now to explain why I didn’t want to confuse you.

I’ve experienced some strange situations caused by people who get confused by baked goods.  For example:

Me (handing a person a baked good): “Let me know what you think.”

Person: “It’s ok, but this muffin is a little too dense, so I can’t rate it very high.”

Me: “It’s a cookie cup.”

Person:  “Oh!!  A cookie??  Then it’s awesome! Delicious! I love it!…..”

Well, you get the idea.

So, if you decide to make these fried Dough Balls of Yumminess—please remember:

Not-Your-Traditional-Donut.

Good, now you’ll be fine.  🙂

And I’m off to continue my quest for the perfect baked mini donut.   Until next time…

Sour Cream Mini Donuts (adapted from maryannatwork’s recipe on Food.com)

  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 cup sour cream (I used low fat)
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg (I didn’t use nutmeg)
  • 1/3 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 orange rind, grated

Beat eggs in a bowl.  Add sugar, sour cream, and milk and beat thoroughly.

Sift dry ingredients together 3 times. Add orange rind.

Stir into egg mixture to make donut batter.

Drop spoonfuls of batter into hot oil. Flip over when bottom side is brown. Remove from oil and drain on paper towels.

Don’t forget the powdered sugar.

Eat while warm and fresh!!

About Geraldine

I love to bake and share ideas for inspiration. Follow me on Instagram, too! @gerporco

40 responses »

  1. Susan T's Kitchen

    Those Donut holes bring back memories of when I was a kid! My mom made those! Yum!

    Reply
  2. Susan T's Kitchen

    I made baked donuts and they were good! I have a recipe on my blog!

    Reply
  3. Congratulations! I have just given you a blog award! Check it out here 😀
    http://carlasueeatsweet.wordpress.com/2012/06/27/my-first-blog-award/

    Reply
  4. Naomi (Write About Me.com.au)

    They look so yummy!

    Reply
  5. Awesome 🙂 Looks delish

    Reply
  6. This reminded me of the last time I had some of these doughnut balls…they are very addictive! Yummy though!

    Reply
  7. cookbakeeatenjoy

    These look delicious! The baked ones are beautiful, but the fried ones look yummy! Could you glaze the fried ones? I have never fried anything either, what kind of oil did you use and how did you dispose of it?
    Thanks!

    Reply
    • Thank you! I guess you could glaze the fried ones once they cool, but they are sooo much better hot. Really, all they need is powdered sugar and they’re awesome. My husband used canola oil, and just put it in a container and threw it out. You should try making these! 🙂

      Reply
  8. These good so great!! Thanks for the explanation- makes complete sense!! X

    Reply
  9. This is amazing! I got hungry just by looking at your post! =)

    Reply
  10. I love sour cream donuts and I love mini donuts. As soon as there’s a cool enough day to stand deep frying in my kitchen I’m going to have to make some of these (old building, no A/C, not the best for baking and frying right now). Can’t wait to try them!

    Reply
  11. Funny how your experiments ends up looking exactly like a Danish Christmas treat – apple dumplings. Everybody makes or buy them for every kind of Christmas occation – and like you served them we have them with powdered sugar and also jam.

    Reply
  12. Looks amazing! I’m convinced all homemade dough balls (or doughnuts) are best served warm!

    Reply
  13. Donuts (in fact, anything deep fried) are my weakness! These look delicious. I wish I weren’t afraid of deep frying at home, I would definitely make your dough balls of yumminess!

    Reply
  14. I love your cupcakes..you are so talented. Check out my store at http://www.justsugarcoatit.com Pick out a pack of 50 of any of my baking cups and I will send them to you.. Love your work!
    Marcella
    http://www.justsugarcoatit.com
    marcella@justsugarcoatit.com

    Reply
    • Thank you so much Marcella– you’re so sweet!!! I can’t wait to check out the store– I just need a few minutes without the kids around. Lol. 🙂 I will let you know soon!!

      Reply
    • Hi Marcella, ok, I finally had time to check out your awesome store! You’re the best– I would LOVE the Purple Cursive Baking Cups. I will definitely post them on my blog and tell everyone how great you are. 🙂 Thank you!!!!!!!!! Once you get this, let me know and I will email you my address. -Geraldine

      Reply

Leave a comment-- I'd love to hear from you!